We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and festive”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Myrtle Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AMDawsW
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and festive”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Loved our stay at Myrtle Cottage! Spacious and cosy house with all our needs covered. It was easy to find and festively decorated which made us feel at home.
Danny & Heather were very friendly and really helpful.
SPAR nearby for basic food needs and Callander has both a Coop and a Tesco a short walk (a mile or two depending on which you’re going to) or drive away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard beds spil this place.”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myrtle cottage is of adequate size for four people, clean and warm in most rooms. It is not close to the town however, being a mile away, and it is situated on a busy road which can be noisy. As reported by others, the bedroom curtains are very thin and let in light but the thing that really lets Myrtle cottage down are the beds. They are hard and uncomfortable and I slept very poorly during my stay there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DatFit
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best landlady you can find”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Best landlady we ever know.

House is warm and cosy, have everything you need for a short stay.

Lovely small town and lots to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer...
Kilconquhar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and pet friendly.”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myrtle cottage is on the roadside approximately a 15 minute walk from the town centre. There is no garden with the property , only a decked area to the side which is accessed through a gate adjacent to the house.
The house itself is fully kitted out with most everything you'd need for a great holiday. All rooms with ecxeption of the kitchen are spacious and nicely furnished. Kitchen is small but they still managed to provide a dishwasher and a washing machine which is great.
Bedrooms could do with some curtains to keep out the light and deaden the noise from the road which is busy but beds were comfortable.
We had our 3 dogs with us and they loved the walk along the river which is found across the road at the bottom of the field. Kids also enjoyed the play park we found along said path. Bracklin falls is another lovely walk.
Heather the owner, provided a starter pack of milk, bread, eggs, butter and jam which was much appreciated.
There is WiFi at the property but we only got internet access 2 days out of 4.
All things considered, we would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 5 nights in this fantastic cottage. We were met by the owner who was really friendly, lovely touch was a welcome pack, bread, milk, eggs, butter & preserves.
The accommodation is done to a high standard throughout, lovely & warm too.
Kitchen really well equipped, I even kept on top of the washing as we went along, nice not having loads to take home! There is a really large airer upstairs, clothes dried well on it.
Good wifi which children were happy about!
In conclusion, I can not fault this cottage at all, we all throughly enjoyed our stay & would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N O
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant centre for exploring Callander and the Trossachs”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We (two adults, three children aged 8-14, one dog) had a lovely week based in Myrtle Cottage, and would recommend it highly. Dan and Heather were excellent hosts, welcoming but not intrusive, and gave us a quick tour and a few local pointers for shops and paths when we arrived. We enjoyed the welcome pack until we had a chance to get shopping too!

The galley kitchen looked a bit small to start with, but was more than adequate for a week's family cooking (and breakfast pancakes!) and the lounge/diner was fine for the five of us (plus dog) to collapse after a day's exercise and watch a DVD.

The bedrooms and upstairs are bright and spacious, and the beds were comfortable, always a pleasant surprise in a holiday house! The bathroom is also a good size, and very welcome after a long ride/walk, the only problem we had was having to climb stairs to get to it with tired legs, maybe we should have gone to a bungalow!

The location is ideal, right on the main road (wasn't a noise problem, it's not that busy!) with lots of parking space and a great view across to Ben Ledi.

About 100m along the main road (walking away from Callander) is a path leading up to a well-used pedestrian/cycle path along the old railway. That gives a nice bicycle or walking route right in to Callander and from there on Sustrans National Cycle Route 7 for as far as you want to go (we got as far as Strathyre, 20km each way, but saw bits of the path as it continued North), it's great to be able to ride out from and back to the house! Going the other way along the path is a shorter route, 4km of quiet path through woods before you have to turn at a quarry entrance.

During the week, we also took the bikes over to Loch Katrine, another lovely cycle route (and a steamship enabling a one-way bike ride from the end of May through the summer months), and had walks up Ben Ledi and Ben Vorlich, both easily reached from the cottage.

One concern we had was that there was only one review on here before we booked, Heather explained that the cottage has been rented out for seven years but has only got on tripadvisor in the last year, so don't let the lack of reviews put you off! And one final thing to be aware of, there is a website for the cottage which mentioned a coffee shop adjacent, but that's not there any more, however there is a petrol station shop at the far side of the car park so you can always get last minute snacks if needed! There is a Tesco and Co-op in the centre of Callander for bigger shopping.

Overall, highly recommended, we'll certainly be back to Callander and will definitely be booking again at Myrtle Cottage if it's available!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona C
Dulnain Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect autistic and dog friendly gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myrtle Cottage is a fantastic cosy 3 bedroomed cottage just on the outskirts of Callander. My husband, daughter and autistic son have just returned from a long weekend here and we returned home feeling chilled out and relaxed. We found it particularly helpful only having one door into Myrtle Cottage which could be securley locked something that is always a worry for autistic parents. Inside it is beautifully decorated with large spacious bedrooms and everything you need for a relaxing stress free stay. Even our jack russell Zac enjoyed his holiday. Heather also left a really nice welcome pack of eggs bread butter milk and jam . For the nice weather there is a decking area to the side of the house . It is also situated within a few miles of Blair Drummond Safari Park . Stirling is 12 miles away but there is also plenty gift shops in Callander itself and a co-op and tesco extra.There is a garage with a spar shop next door to Myrtle Cottage. Loch Lomond is approximatley an hour's drive away .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing