We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Myrtle Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Amanda H
Dalry
2 reviews
“Family Stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the cottage!Weather was great thankfully!The cottage is in a busy road so quite noisy through the day but it didn’t spoil our time!Everything you need clean and easy for walking about in Callander and short drive to nearby areas such as Safari Park, Soa in Aberfoyle Forest Hills Hotel Stirling and the Trossachs Trail!Heather was great if we needed her she was there but not intrusive

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel123...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Myrtle cottage is situated about a mile from Callander town centre but there is a bus stop right outside .
Heather , the owner , allowed us to leave luggage with her as my hubby had to do another trip to pick up our brother in law .
The cottage is excellent . Very clean and has everything you need for a holiday stay . Bedrooms and bathroom are large and good quality bedding towels etc . Kitchen very well equipped. Plenty crockery cutlery glasses .
Patio decking is lovely to sit and watch the sun go down . Next door is a Spar shop attached to garage which had good stock of food drinks etc although Heather did leave bread butter milk eggs jam tea coffee
The main road outside did not disturb our sleep at all . Wish we’d booked a week instead of four nights ! We will be back !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
1 review
“A great balance of home and away”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Myrtle Cottage is easily accessible, and has amenities on the doorstep, yet is sufficiently embedded in the Scottish countryside that one has the flavour without being too remote.
There is a petrol station at the other end of the car park, and Callendar town centre within walking distance. There are plenty of options for food and drink, including a Tesco Extra if you want to stock up for your stay.
Without even leaving the immediate vicinity, there is a riverside walk, plus Callendar Crags, and Bracklinn Falls if you want to stretch your legs a bit further.
Then, of course, you are positioned on the cusp of the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs national park, or venture further, in to the Highlands.
On this trip, we went as far as Invermoriston on the A82 (by Loch Ness), and Pitlochry on the A9, but ours was only a short stay.

Myrtle Cottage itself has the relevant home comforts. Three bedrooms, a bathroom with a bath and a shower cubicle, so you can take your pick. There is a small galley-style kitchen, with usual white goods, and there is a comfortable living room.
There is also plenty of space next to the cottage for parking your car off the road.
The beds were comfortable enough. Others have commented on the lightness of the curtains, and the closeness of the road, but there are blinds, and it was dark enough and quiet enough in a very wintry mid-March that we were not too adversely affected.

There isn't much in the way of a garden, that I saw, but it was bitterly cold anyway, so we weren't looking to sit out.

Heather was on call in case of any problems, as she lives next door, but there was no interference once we were given the door key.
The fridge was occupied with some bread, milk, and eggs when we arrived.
Tasty-looking home-made shortbread biscuits were also available, which my sister seemed to enjoy (mum doesn't like shortbread, and I'm watching my weight).

All in all, it was a great spot to stay, reasonably priced, and with easy access to the road network for touring a good section of Scotland. I even tootled down the road a bit to Plean on the Saturday, for a parkrun.

Thank you, Heather, for your hospitality.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMDawsW
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and festive”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Loved our stay at Myrtle Cottage! Spacious and cosy house with all our needs covered. It was easy to find and festively decorated which made us feel at home.
Danny & Heather were very friendly and really helpful.
SPAR nearby for basic food needs and Callander has both a Coop and a Tesco a short walk (a mile or two depending on which you’re going to) or drive away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard beds spil this place.”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myrtle cottage is of adequate size for four people, clean and warm in most rooms. It is not close to the town however, being a mile away, and it is situated on a busy road which can be noisy. As reported by others, the bedroom curtains are very thin and let in light but the thing that really lets Myrtle cottage down are the beds. They are hard and uncomfortable and I slept very poorly during my stay there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DatFit
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best landlady you can find”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Best landlady we ever know.

House is warm and cosy, have everything you need for a short stay.

Lovely small town and lots to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer...
Kilconquhar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and pet friendly.”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myrtle cottage is on the roadside approximately a 15 minute walk from the town centre. There is no garden with the property , only a decked area to the side which is accessed through a gate adjacent to the house.
The house itself is fully kitted out with most everything you'd need for a great holiday. All rooms with ecxeption of the kitchen are spacious and nicely furnished. Kitchen is small but they still managed to provide a dishwasher and a washing machine which is great.
Bedrooms could do with some curtains to keep out the light and deaden the noise from the road which is busy but beds were comfortable.
We had our 3 dogs with us and they loved the walk along the river which is found across the road at the bottom of the field. Kids also enjoyed the play park we found along said path. Bracklin falls is another lovely walk.
Heather the owner, provided a starter pack of milk, bread, eggs, butter and jam which was much appreciated.
There is WiFi at the property but we only got internet access 2 days out of 4.
All things considered, we would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing