We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cakes to die for!”
Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cakes to die for!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Harbour Cafe is a great place to go for a cup of coffee and a piece of cake. An attractive modern building sitting beside Loch Venachar; spectacular views even on wet and dreary days! The cakes are freshly made on site and are delicious, so good we made a return visit. Wood burning stove adds to the attraction and the owner was a charming lady.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    139
    37
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This place has everything. Great food amazing views even on a dull day and really friendly staff.
So good we went back a second time for lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

With a view to die for, this restaurant has friendly staff, a roaring log burner and food and snacks beyond expectation! The battered fish is the best we have ever eaten - and we live by the sea!
Glorious homemade cakes, great coffee, a good lounge area and have loch views on 3 sides.
It is autumn, the views were wonderful. We returned daily for meals or morning coffee breaks as the staff were so friendly, the food so good and nothing was too much trouble.
It is easy to drive past and not give a 2nd thought. Do stop! Prices are very reasonable so the quality comes as a surprise. Evening meals on Friday and Saturday but only on bookings. So book! We did and have no regrets.I recall that they are closed for December for refurb and holiday so check.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had lunch on a wet October day but the view was still breathtaking.Husband and I had the soup and it was delicious. This was followed by the sharing platter and again the food was lovely. One wee suggestion - soup was gluten free which was great but would have been nice to have had gluten free bread to go with it. We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madtabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmorlie
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great venue, great location, great staff”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I a light lunch here en-route on a trip up North.

Not only is the location beautiful, but the food was excellent (very fresh and delicious) but the staff were excellent also. We found them to be prompt, friendly and very welcoming.

Lastly, the price was more than reasonable. In fact, I actually had to ask the waitress to check the bill.

We would definitely return. It is out of the way for most people I guess, but well worth the diversion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing