We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lunch”
Review of Venachar Lochside

Venachar Lochside
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Venachar Lochside has a beautiful location on the banks of Loch Venachar, 10 minutes from Callander. Our menus offer fresh, seasonal and local produce. We have facilities for idyllic lochside weddings and functions in addition to great trout and pike fishing from both boat and bank.
Balquhidder, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the second time this year we have been to The Harbour Cafe and today we took our visitors there for lunch. The food was absolutely delicious, the service very good and the staff were friendly and welcoming. I recommend this cafe without hesitation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLL12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynBarr, Owner at Venachar Lochside, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
KLL,

Ah, that's what I like to hear! SO pleased you enjoyed both your visits to our restaurant and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    134
    35
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon coffee”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just pop in in the late afternoon for coffee and a delicious cake. The coffee was excellent and although by late afternoon the type of cake available was limited it was still delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, gorgeous food & great service make for a fabulous meal out”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visited here with family during a holiday near Callender. It came with a recommendation of 'best food we had during our stay' and it didn't fail to live up to this. A big bonus is that it is dog friendly so our spaniels enjoyed the experience too. I had the scallops with mango & lime salsa along with a generous sized portion of hand cut chips and I enjoyed every mouthful...cooked to perfection & washed down with a large glass of good Sauvignon blanc followed by the best carrot cake I have ever had. My husband chose the sharing platter (a starter for 2 ha ha) which was awesome in size & flavours included pickles, ham, fabulous smoked salmon & more, our party also enjoyed mussels, child's portion (still generous) of cod in beer batter with chips and a burger followed by selection of cakes. The setting was perfect, overlooking the loch, couldn't have wished for me. Service was very good, friendly & personal with special attention given to my 17 month grandson & our 2 spaniels. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable meal out, only regret is I didn't have the chance to revisit and sample the tempting selection of Scottish smoked salmon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Location, Great Food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is worth it partially for the idyllic location- no one else around and a totally undisturbed view of the loch. We booked for a huge party, with shared platters and wine and other drinks. The food was gorgeous (particularly the pate- yum!), we had full run of the place (a 2 year old guest particularly enjoyed this aspect), the staff were chatty and cheerful. Perfect for intimate family gatherings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location, food and service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Getting one right is good; getting two right is great; getting all three right is close to perfection. As a group of walkers we met here for lunch on our way to a walking holiday in the area. The Cullen Skink and vegetable soup were excellent and although we only followed with fresh scones and coffee we were very impressed with the quality. All the other food looked extremely good and the menu is very interesting.And everything is freshly made. The location, particularly on a grey Wednesday looked superb - just imagine what it is like in sunshine. All of this experience was 'glued' together by two young girls. They were genuinely happy, friendly, helpful and very professional - an all too rare combination. Will definitely look for an excuse to return if in the area again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jellioth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venachar Lochside also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Venachar Lochside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing