We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine in true old Scots Croft”
Review of The Byre Inn

The Byre Inn
Ranked #8 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lasswade
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dine in true old Scots Croft”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tiny we croft making that dining experience some what different.
Loved the ambiance and the little touch of games on each table. Felt we may get stranded if it were snowing outside, alas no snow and I lost at our game of trivial pursuits. Easily could have played cards, chess, backgammon or others.
Oh the food was quality rather than quantity, enjoyed Venison but was slightly rare, wife enjoyed a very well done steak. Choice was not varied but when would I be back - not for a long while - not by choice but distance. Next time I pass I will revisit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Co4ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    92
    32
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Came for lunch. Was quiet after being shut for 2 days so not much of an atmosphere . However everything else was great so top marks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart2562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! What a find”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We visited the Trossachs and had a five mile walk around Loch Achray in the rain, only to stumble upon this oasis. We walked in dripping wet, hoping there would be a porch or something where we could rid ourselves of wet clothing, to be greeted by the bar just six feet or so away and smiling faces all round. We had a very warm welcome and the roaring real fire was a treat. The games at the table would've been ideal for families but we enjoyed a giggle playing 'pick-up-sticks' on our own as this was a child-free treat for us. The ales were amazing, especially the IPA (Mr B couldn't get enough of the stuff!), and the burgers and chips were excellent, especially the chips which were thick, hand-cut, still with skins on and extremely moreish! By the time we came out it had stopped raining and we completed our walk with full bellies and big smiles, even if it was a little less straight of a walk than before we went in!!!

A real must visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doune, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bitter disappointment”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We live fairly locally and have enjoyed a few visits to this charming restaurant. As such, my expectations were extremely high as, in the past, this has been one of my very favourite places to eat. However, today's lunch was very disappointing. Soup lukewarm, kids' macaroni cheese far too rich and heavy with the cream/cheese as to be almost sickening, jus with the venison tasted more like a bit of bisto with hot water, and very mean on the toffee sauce for the sticky toffee pudding. Other aspects of our meals were good but, overall, I left feeling very disappointed. I doubt that I will rush back to repeat this particular experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank archiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunvegan78, Owner at The Byre Inn, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
A few points that you never mentioned in your review:

Firstly we have never had never had a issue or complaint with the macaroni from other kids, if it is not to your sons taste then that is fine but we make it with mustard and isle of mull cheddar and this is something we will not change. Some other points

1. There is no cream in the macaroni cheese.

2. You were never charged for the Macaroni, and your son was offered another dish on us.

3. We did a meal check, why if there was a problem with your sons meal did you not mention it and allow us the opportunity to change it then?

4. Jus. "The juices that are a by-product of roasting meat" In our case a veal bone stock reduction. Its certainly not bisto but it will certainly not taste overtly of port because children have it too.

5. You "enjoyed a few visits to this charming restaurant."
yet you never left one positive review about those visits? Very unfair.

6. Whilst paying I asked if there were any other problems with the meal and were told the rest of the meal was lovely. If you were not happy with other elements why not email us and allow us the opportunity to reply and make it up to you?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Byre Inn”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

First time for lunch at this restaurant , dismal lighting, cold, there was a log fire, but we were nowhere near it, my wife ordered a steak sandwich and a glass of the house red wine, the wine was very cold, as was the sandwich , we will not be back..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Roadkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Byre Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Byre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing