We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice start to a Trossachs day out”
Review of The Lade Inn

The Lade Inn
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$40
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family owned pub/restaurant offering local fresh produce in the beautiful surroundings of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Disabled accessible and family/dog friendly.
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stopped off at The Lade Inn on our way into the Trossachs and had an excellent lunch in very nice surroundings.
The Lade is just off the main road out of Callander and on the road heading into the Trossachs area and, incidentally, at the start of one of BBC TV's "Britain's Best Drives" and which was driven by the actor Richard Wilson.
The food was excellent with a wide range of choice on the menu with a fair number of vegetarian choices also available.
The restaurant is spacious, clean and well lit and the service was excellent.
Certainly a nice place to start off your Trossachs tour and avoids having to find parking etc., in Callander itself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AJD_Erskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review of The Lade Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that the service was up to standard. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 463 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

My new husband and I ate one of our first meals as husband and wife here. It was off peak season end September and midweek so the atmosphere was fairly quiet. We had a lovely waitress and the food was sublime.
I asked for the chicken stuffed with haggis in a creamy whiskey but altered the accompaniment of potatoes to mash and that was not a problem for the chef which was very kind. The portions were massive great for a hungry walker!
My husband had the steak and ale pie which he said was delicious especially the locally brewed ale which I tried.
Tastylicious! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review of The Lade Inn, Kilmahog. Firstly I would like to say Congratulations on your recent Wedding and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal after such a special event. We strive to provide fresh food, cooked to order and served by friendly and helpful staff. I am also happy to see that you appreciate that when we go out of the busy season it is hard to provide atmosphere but its nice that you still found it to be enjoyable. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had cheeseburgers, which were very tasty and large portions are served.
Definitely ask for special beers, the menu is worth it !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happylifeepesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review of your recent trip to The Lade Inn. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the real ale and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Trossachs.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very cosy pub, good food, and VERY dog friendly, they even gave my dog a biscuit - which was great. Hope to be back in November.

Thank JanetteHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit and so did your dog. We looks forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We recently attended a small family wedding reception here. The service was great, the way the tables etc were decorated were lovely. The meal was lovely, large portions served, even for children. There's a great garden area, kids were made to feel welcome with toys etc to play with. There was a live band in the evening too! Overall service was great, highly recommend!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loganbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and for all the kind comments regarding the recent Wedding reception we held. We take pride in going out of our way to make everyone's visit a good one but especially on a day such as a special event for all involved. I am very pleased that everyone in your party enjoyed themselves from the way the room was decorated to the service and food. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lade Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Lade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing