We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with old friends....and some new ones”
Review of The Lade Inn

The Lade Inn
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$43
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family owned pub/restaurant offering local fresh produce in the beautiful surroundings of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Disabled accessible and family/dog friendly.
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Courteous staff, good food, great bands on the weekend that are sure to entertain. Well worth the stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Hello and thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent visit to The Lade Inn. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and the live music and we hope that you will choose to visit again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 435 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

After we got a recommendation from our guesthouse we came to this local inn which brews it's own ale. Let me be clear, it was the most horrible rating experience in the UK for us. This is the quality you see in sports canteens. And don't get me wrong, I love simpel dishes and pub food, but this is just bad quality food. We had lasagne and fried scampi. It was typical deepfried, not fresh quality, did not like it at all. After we finished our main course we decided to leave even though we would have want to have Some whisky and dessert as Well. About the service: it took a long time to deliver our main course even when no other table had places orders anyone. The waitress was busy drinking beer and playing with her phone and we felt very unwelcome. We strongly recommend you not to go here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ted_and_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent meal at The Lade Inn. Our restaurant is a family owned and run Pub/Restaurant in the heart of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. We have been in business now for 9 years and having won Best Informal Pub in the Good Food for all Awards as well as receiving the Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor I am very sorry to hear that you feel we are the worst place to eat in the whole of the United Kingdom.

I would firstly like to address a couple of points. Our food is cooked fresh to order unlike the sports canteens you mentioned so your food will take a little while to cook and this is stated on the menu. It does not matter if you are the only table in the place a meal still takes a certain amount of time to prepare, however in saying this had you mentioned to your server that you were concerned about how long the food was taking they would have happily spoken to the chef and then spoken to you afterwards to find out why it was taking so long. Our Vegetable Lasagne which you had is homemade fresh on the premises by the Head Chef (and owner) and his team and although you mentioned this dish in your review you did not comment on whether or not there was a problem with this dish. As for the Scampi if you were unsure as to what it was or how it was cooked then perhaps you should have asked. The web definition for Scampi in the UK is the following
"In Britain the shelled tail meat is generally referred to as "scampi" or "wholetail scampi", although cheaper "re-formed scampi" can contain other parts together with other fish. It is served fried in batter or breadcrumbs and usually with chips (french fries) and tartare sauce. It is widely available in supermarkets and restaurants, considered pub or snack food." Therefor we feel this is an unfair complaint, perhaps you just made the wrong choice on the night. At no point did you let the staff know that you were unhappy with your meal and if you had done so at the time we would have tried our best to rectify the matter. With regards to the staff and poor service I am unsure as to how you felt the service was during your meal but the waitress you mention in your review had actually finished her shift at 9pm that night and had changed out of her uniform and sat to have a drink while she was waiting for her lift home. We do encourage our staff to socialise with each other and we allow them to have a drink once their shift is finished. It is therefor wrong of you to assume that she was still working and was to busy drinking and playing with her phone.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy coming to The Lade Inn but we are going to continue to work hard at providing good home cooked food, served in a comfortable and friendly environment and as you can see by many of our reviews we must be doing something right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I visited here along with 30+ friends on a coach tour to Callander. We had pre-ordered our meals so the staff had plenty of warning of our arrival. I had penne pasta, but instead of the usual cheese or tomato sauce, I was served with a mushroom sauce. It was a pleasant surprise and delicious. My friends at my table had steak pie, scampi and fish and chips. All plates were cleared. The desserts were apple crumble or chocolate brownie, served with custard and/or cream. Delicious. Tea and coffee served with shortbread and chocolate sweets. We sat in the conservatory overlooking the garden and it was very pleasant. Local ales were available to buy in the shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thanks for your review and very kind comment regarding your recent group visit. We enjoy catering for large groups and find the pre-order system works really well in getting the food out to diners as quickly as possible.

I have passed your comments on to all the staff who were working on the day your group was in and they were really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Walked to the Lade from Strathyre lodges (about 2 miles) and were greeted by a very helpful bar person. We'd needed to check the taxis for the journey home and the staff could not have been more helpful. The menu consisted of the usual range of pub grub, but it was tasty and reasonably priced. The Saturday night band is Pure Malt, it's a different band on a Friday night and we were advised that Pure Malt are the better of the two. We were there for 7 and there were plenty of seats, but by the time the band started at 9, the small lounge was stowed out, so we'd recommend that you get there early.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ckl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Visited this dog friendly rustic inn for a late lunch. The only negative at the time was the menu was limited due to faulty fryers. This didn't really matter as we enjoyed scrummy home made cream of vegetable soup & prawn baguettes and our daughter enjoyed local sausages & mash. The local ales are available to buy from the ale shop adjacent to the inn where we were served by the friendly landlady. Well worth a visit.

Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent trip to The Lade Inn. I am firstly very sorry for the fryer being down while you were there. This unfortunately is one of the downsides of the catering industry. Thankfully our fryer thermostat was promptly ordered and fitted after a couple of days of it breaking. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your soup and Sausage and Mash (both very popular choices).

Thanks again and please come and visit us again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lade Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Lade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing