We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture perfect on the river bank”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bridgend Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
WIMBORNE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picture perfect on the river bank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A lovely traditional B&B with the best breakfast in Scotland. The cottage is beautiful and we received a lovely welcome. A more idyllic setting would be difficult to find! The river bank is a fishing rod from the french doors. Benn Ledi rises up behind, and the garden is bordered by an old stone bridge, the river, a bluebell wood and the bank of the old railway line - now converted to cycle/walking tracks. The walks from the cottage are unsurpassed! We scrambled up to Sampson's Putting Stone, took a dander up to the Leny Falls and strolled into Callander (about a mile). The old railway track paths are absolutely teaming with wild flowers and wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Mrs Hopper was so graceful and her place is enchanted. Nice rooms well equipped, great scottish breakfast... The house itself is beautiful next to the river, made lively with different hens of various kind and the cat Nessie which is really sweet.
We had 2 lovely days there last august 2013 and we strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierpiotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelmersdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very nice place to stay. Made to feel very welcome. Great room overlooking the river and a good breakfast. The kind of place you will want to return to. The Lade Inn is a 2 minute walk away.(good food and real ale).

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We had a great weekend break here. The room upstairs with the view of the river was lovely.
We went over the road to the local pub, the Lade Inn (200 or so steps away) to eat and enjoy a Scottish folk band.
The stand out thing for us was the lovely and charming host Mrs Diana Hopper. Oh, and the great breakfast with freshly laid eggs!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The Bridgend cottage is the most lovely place for a stay and Ms.Diana Hopper is the most charming hostess who serves an awesome breakfast. The rushing river lulls you to sleep at night in a quiet setting just a short drive from Sterling Castle, Wallace Monument and start of wonderful drives through the Trossachs. We recommend you take the narrow winding road just outside of Killin for spectacular views of Loch Tay[pronounced Tee]. Dennis and Lynn Parsons

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dap1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Bridgend Cottage is a wonderful place to stay- it is small and welcoming, with a very homely feel. All the small touches have been added to the bedrooms, and the breakfast is filling and in a friendly environment looking out over the river . Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileysyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is one of the loveliest and cosiest b&bs i have ever stayed in. It is clean, comfortable and quaint with lovely views of the river and garden. The b&b is an idyllic stone built cottage in a couple of acresof garden by the side of the river. You are greeted by Mrs Hopper who will look after you and make the best breakfast - the sausages are so lovely. As a cyclist, it is ideally placed beside an old railway track which is part of the rob roy route. Not too hilly and perfect for a gentle cycle or long cycle if you want to go further away to killin or kenmore. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahsm1th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southfork Villa
Southfork Villa
#15 of 35 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Callander Meadows
Callander Meadows
#19 of 35 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westerton Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgend Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgend Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bridgend Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: | Kilmahog in the Pass of Leny, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Kilmahog, 1-mile north of Callendar, at the gateway to the Trossachs National Park Bridgend Cottage B&B is a lovely 200-year old stone-built riverside cottage.2 doubles and 1 family room. All rooms en-suite. TV and DVD, tea and coffee facilities. Ample parking.Hearty breakfasts at the big table in our kitchen with a choice of either a full cooked Scottish breakfast or a continental one. Let us know if you have special dietary needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgend Cottage Bed And Breakfast Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing