We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner ruined by manager/owner screaming at staff”
Review of Roman Camp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Camp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We treated ourselves to an Easter meal at the Roman Camp on Easter Sunday - something we have been promising ourselves we would do for a few years. The setting was beautiful and the quality of the food lived up to its fine reputation. The whole experience was however completely spoiled by a gentleman, I assumed to be the manager or owner, loudly berating his attentive and pleasant staff full glare of the busy dining room.

The whole thing was unpleasant to witness and was quite reminiscent of an episode of Fawlty Towers. I felt for the young server being bawled at, and whatever he may or may not have done, the effect of this public outburst was much more upsetting on me. It ruined the experience for me to be honest, and I wouldn't be in a rush to return to a place where this treatment of staff is deemed acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank ScotsCouple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you want to get away from queues of traffic, roaring lorries, hustle and bustle, this is the place. Go back 400 years to tranquillity, extensive grounds plenty seats, and only the river making a noise. The room very comfortable, always warm and cosy, the en suite faultless. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and the food, breakfast, diner and the cream tea, wonderful! We shall return.

Room Tip: As far as we could see they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoianMiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have enjoyed dinner and afternoon tea in the Roman Camp on previous visits but had never stayed over until this weekend. We stayed in the "South" superior room and were not disappointed in any way. The room was large, well furnished and suitably traditional so to meet the historic values of the hotel. Oh and the Jacuzzi was fab as was the small decanter of whisky left out with the compliments of the hotel.

Staff were friendly and helpful as always and the quality of the food was first class.

Although not the cheapest place you will stay in it is worth spending that wee bit extra to enjoy the luxury and relaxation this hotel offers. Nothing to add other than a lovely hotel where you feel spoilt from the moment you arrive and sit in front of one of their many open coal fires.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stenybaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Celebrated my mum's 90th with afternoon tea and lots of champagne, in the library, in front of a log fire. Callum was a perfect host - so congenial and all our needs were so well catered for - making it a family day to remember. I stayed in the Bear's Den room which has a huge bed, gr8 jacuzzi bath, fresh fruit and the list goes on........ There is a beautiful view of the garden with a door opening out on to it. Breakfast was served by Fiona and was fantastic - a large choice of food which was cooked to perfection by one of the chefs. I highly recommend this hotel - as a country retreat - it has such a peaceful and friendly
atmosphere, an attentive staff and it's situation by the river is idyllic. My family and I will definitely be returning.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank feefee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for valentines weekend . We splashed out and stayed in "Barrie" suite. From start to finish it was wonderful. We didn't have dinner in hotel as we had other plans but the breakfast were lovely and fresh.
Can't wait to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

There will not be enough superlatives to review this sumptuous hotel.
From start to finish it was simply divine.
we were greeted with a glass of champagne and a wonderful afternoon tea. Then shown to the magnificent lady Esher room, which had an Edwardian splendour, spacious yet cosy feel.
The staff could not have been nice, every single one of them but the winner has got to be the delightful, helpful, knowledgeable and cheerful Callum. This lovely young man could hold his head up among the crowned heads of Europe !
The service was instantaneous. The décor superb, the huge roaring fires lit in every room, and the over mantle flowers a wonder to behold.
The dining room was beautiful, and the tasting menu tailored to suit our every need. Roaring log fire as well.
Breakfast was beautifully cooked and the poached eggs like clouds.
In case people think I am related to a member of staff, or on the pay roll, the only criticism I can find to put, just to prove I am a real person !! is the water in the bathroom is so hot it needs a government health warning !! But the piping hot water was wonderful.
This place will exceed your every dream, and the only place we can compare it to is reids in Madeira.
Well done Roman camp, you are a shining star in a wilderness of chain hotels and sameness.
You are simply a delight and the best we have been to in Scotland.

Room Tip: Any every where is divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We have just had our wedding at the roman camp and it was perfect !!! After being let down by the ardeonaig ( they have closed down) the day before our wedding the Roman Camp was recomended to us by our marriage registrar so one frantic phonecall and the wedding was back on!!! What can I say .... We were looked after from the second we arrived by the lovely nicola and callum who also became our witnesses ... Given a beautiful room and we were marroed in the library with all the candles lit... It was so romantic and perfect im still all overwhelmed by the day .... The staff are brilliant and unobtrusive .... The dinner was fantastic and the whole hotel was gorgeous all log fires and peaceful justnperfect for a wedding and we will be going back for definate so again a huge thankyou to nicola and callum and the owners and chef for helping us .... We cant wait to come back :-) julie and david

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hillymooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
11.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
17.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
270 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Address: Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range: £94 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roman Camp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing