We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be good not now”

Callander Golf Club
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Went here for years now it's part time green keepers don't care now covered in moss fairways tees bare and greens moss or bald total rip off even at £15 never will I return after I ask staff what's goin on and total fantasy land they live in when last time they went out was 3 weeks ago course is ruined and staff thinks they know best I'm the customer I play all over country never seen so much moss or neglect was told to put in email so doing this also as it's long drive don't waste ur fuel no sand in bunkers btw the gravel traps now more like!!!! Club house empty no wonder as staff rood and thinks they ar so posh how dare u say bad things about our course

4  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your day at our course.
This very wet winter has made things difficult for our greens staff but we are pleased to report that the course is in now very much improved.
I do need to correct your assumption that our greens staff are part time, they are all full time employees and have the appropriate qualifications.
This is the first time I have ever had a complaint about the attitude of the club house staff, your comments are noted but are not at all typical.
We hope you reconsider your decision about playing here in the future and extend you a warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly welcome"
in 3 reviews
"breakfast rolls"
in 2 reviews
"stunning views"
in 2 reviews
"par"
in 7 reviews
"fairways"
in 6 reviews
"tee"
in 6 reviews
"challenges"
in 3 reviews
"holes"
in 7 reviews
"rounds"
in 5 reviews
"green"
in 17 reviews
"wee"
in 3 reviews
"pace"
in 2 reviews
"logging"
in 2 reviews
"unplayable"
in 2 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We had a superb day at Callander today.
Despite the heavy rain over the last few days the course was very playable.
I saw a previous TA review that complained about puddles, mud and divots. I'm sorry, but you must play all your golf in Dubai. This is golf course in the Scottish Highlands in spring. SUCK IT UP!!!

We had a great welcome by all the staff in the club and they all took time to chat with us.
We will be back in the summer for some of the open events and to enjoy it the warm and in full bloom. Great day out!

2  Thank Wraggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
Good luck in whichever open competition you decide to enter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I know every day is a loveeeeelyyyyyy day for gooooolf. However, on the less joking side of things, the course was horrific. Puddles, divots, mud, overgrown grass, animal faeces, and steep hills covered the course completely. Gross.

Thank Jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. We agree that every day is a good day for golf! However our greens staff have been through a difficult period. The wet winter and cold weather combined to make course maintenance quite problematic. We are pleased to be able to say that the course is now very much improved and the greens staff are being complimented on its condition. The golf course has a couple of “hilly” holes, the rest of the course is undulating parkland with fantastic scenery.
Hope you come back and give us another try now that the weather has improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Whilst staying at Tigh Mor I played a round of golf whilst my wife went for a walk. Combination of winter tees and normal greens but only paid £15. Quiet, so went round in just over 3 hours. Interesting course with enjoyable scenary.Was within a couple of club lengths of a hole in one on the 11th (that's close for me!) 148 yards with an 8 iron.

Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for posting your comments. Hope to see back in the future when, who knows, you may get that hole in one, perhaps on the shorter 15th hole!
Bond Holders at Tigh Mor are eligible for a discount at Callander Golf Course, as are residents at all our local hotels and B&Bs. Just speak to your hosts and ask them to contact our shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great time with lovely views and friendly welcome. Excellent value for money. Course in good condition

Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your comments; hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Callander Golf Club also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Callander Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing