We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Scenic views and some challenging holes

We enjoyed our 18 holes at Callander GC courtesy of Itison voucher. Staff welcome was excellent in... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2018
Richard B
,
Cupar, United Kingdom
Charming Golf course

On arrival at Callander Golf club we received a very warm welcome in the pro shop. The facilities... read more

Reviewed 17 July 2018
barberpaul6
,
East Calder, United Kingdom
Read all 42 reviews
  
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
10
20
4
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
20
4
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly welcome par holes winter greens breakfast rolls stunning views well worth a visit fairways challenges rounds play gc logging shop scenery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We enjoyed our 18 holes at Callander GC courtesy of Itison voucher. Staff welcome was excellent in the shop and restaurant. Easy to find golf club and plenty of parking. There were a couple of winter greens on the day we played the course but that was never a worry. There may be lots of short holes but they all have their challenges. We had fun and challenges at the same time. I would point out that I have never seen so many notices at any golf club I have ever played at than there was at Callander. There are notices everywhere. Overwhelming and impossible to take in. Did not however spoil our day. Thank you Callander GC members.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the welcome you received and of the course despite a few winter greens. Regarding the amount of notices i will look in to this and see what can be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

On arrival at Callander Golf club we received a very warm welcome in the pro shop. The facilities were spotlessly clean and spacious. The course itself offered a great mix of long and short holes which suited the mixed abilities of our foursome. The course is very picturesque with stunning views of Ben Ledi As with most courses this year, the dry hot weather has taken its toll on a few areas of the course but on the whole the grass has endured the heat well.

Thank barberpaul6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, General Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, our new Greenkeeping staff are working hard and have had their work cut out with all this hot weather but as you say the course is holding up great.

Hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

This was my 1st game on this golf course - really enjoyed it - visited the trees too often but the course was a great challenge which i cant wait to play again. Very friendly staff within the shop and the clubhouse catering was very good. Stunning setting definetely worth a game if you get the chance.

Alan G
Balfron Golf Club

Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thanks for your kind comments.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Just home after a round at Callander Golf Club this morning. It’s a 50 mile round trip for us but well worth the travel and we will definitely play it again.
Like most courses in the area, the greens have suffered through this extended dry spell but you won't catch a Glaswegian complaining about the sunny weather.
If you are looking for a challenging course, stunning scenery, a nice bite to eat and a friendly welcome, give it a try.
Well worth a visit.

Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank You for your kind comments - glad you enjoyed your day.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We went up to Callander a couple of weeks ago and to say it's the worst I have played is an understatement, place should be shut down. The so called greens have never been watered during the dry weather we've experienced recently, they were brown and full of sand.

Such a shame as the bar staff and food was great. I asked a few members what had happened to the place and they said the female green keeper chucked it a few months back and they had just replaced her.

Don't waste your time or money, we will never be back and should have got a full refund.

1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Greens Convenor at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment.
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your days golf but appreciate your positive comments about our catering services.
Our greens are watered in the evenings during dry periods but I accept that they were not up to our usual standard at the time you played.
We have had a very difficult winter period which impacted on the condition of the greens.
However, they are now much improved but not yet at the high standard we are aiming for.
We would welcome you back at any time.
If you have a change of mind about playing here again please contact our secretary to discuss.
Kind regards
Greens Convenor


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

9th June 2018.
Well what a waste of a days golf.
The greens and fairways were the worst we have played in.
We will never return ever ever again.
0 out of 10.
Stay clear please.
John from hamilton.

1  Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Greens Convenor at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment.
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your days golf and do not intend playing here again.
In defence of our greens staff we had suffered our worst ever winter period with thirty two days of snow cover and constant rain at other times.
The course is now very much improved and our visitors are enjoying decent fairways and much improved greens.
We still have more work to do to achieve the high standard we have set ourselves and would welcome you back at any time.
Please contact our secretary in this regard if you have a change of mind.
Kind regards
Greens Convenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I play at Callander reasonably regularly and always enjoy my visits, I probably visit 5 times a year or so.

The course has excellent clubhouse facilities and a friendly welcome is always assured.

I've played the course at all times of year and always found it to be in good condition but I think its fair to say it did suffer this year in our exceptionally wet summer, which is a shame. Like many other courses it never really had time to recover and this was evident through August, September, October.

Good deals can be had on TeeOffTimes, or play in the winter when a round is at £12 paid in an honesty box. My only slight criticism would be that I think the walk up prices for summer rounds are a wee bit steep. I'd always rather book direct with the club than through ToT but the usual difference here is so large I'll usually book through the third party if playing in the summer.

I would say if you are thinking about playing this course but are put off by some of the recent reviews, don't be, it's a lovely little course in an amazingly peaceful setting with stunning views and some very challenging par 3 holes.

Thank DaveHedgehog124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for kind comments regarding the course and i am glad that you enjoy your visits to the course and the welcome that you receive.

I will look into the walk up prices for next season.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Given we are into September I can't complain and having played this course previously with better conditions underfoot. The course at times was unplayable due to poor drainage particularly around the greens with the balls plugging even in the fairways at times. Several holes are in good conditions but the sheer amount of surface water made me wonder should it have been open. Can't fault the staff and as part of the deal you got a filled roll however staff allowed you to chop and change. The home baking was a nice touch. No card reader in the bar though so bring some cash. Will need to reattend when the course isn't so waterlogged.

Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

3 of us had a day pass for Sunday 27th August and whilst the breakfast roll was tasty, the lunch even more so and the staff and locals all very friendly the 2 rounds of golf we had were really quite disappointing to say the least.
The course was exceptionally wet with half the ball plugging in to many greens from our approach shots.
Walking on some greens was like stepping on to a water bed and if you stood on them for any length of time you also left an inch deep indentation of your heel. As for the temporary 14th green....
It's such a shame as the views, food and friendly staff deserve a better, drier course - I would possibly play it again when it is dry (or drier).

Thank Jenks023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Appreciate that we live in Scotland and inclement weather is the norm but have never played a wetter course when we arrived we were not advised about the state of the course and the amount of water lying and running down the paths ,Most of the greens were unplayable one was even a winter green . The paths were dangerous one of party slipped twice . The course should have been closed . On finishing we commented at the shop about the state of the course and the amount of water and was told well it has been raining basically tough luck .
Not the way to bring us back pity as it is a nice course

Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Greens Convenor at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your game and felt that the course should have been closed.
This is a case of "dammed if we do and dammed if we don't".
It was a Callander Golf Club medal day and the competition was duly completed without incident.
Other vistitors on the same day played the course twice, once in the morning and again in the afternoon. Their view was that we took the right decision in keeping the course open.
However, I really appreciate your comments about this being "a nice course" and for the three stars you awarded us despite your concerns.
We would like to see you back again, please contact our secretary for a complementary round for you and your playing partners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews