We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Golf course”

Callander Golf Club
Reviewed 17 July 2018

On arrival at Callander Golf club we received a very warm welcome in the pro shop. The facilities were spotlessly clean and spacious. The course itself offered a great mix of long and short holes which suited the mixed abilities of our foursome. The course is very picturesque with stunning views of Ben Ledi As with most courses this year, the dry hot weather has taken its toll on a few areas of the course but on the whole the grass has endured the heat well.

Thank barberpaul6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, General Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, our new Greenkeeping staff are working hard and have had their work cut out with all this hot weather but as you say the course is holding up great.

Hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"friendly welcome"
in 4 reviews
"par holes"
in 2 reviews
"winter greens"
in 2 reviews
"breakfast rolls"
in 2 reviews
"stunning views"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"fairways"
in 6 reviews
"challenges"
in 4 reviews
"rounds"
in 5 reviews
"play"
in 14 reviews
"gc"
in 2 reviews
"logging"
in 2 reviews
"shop"
in 3 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

This was my 1st game on this golf course - really enjoyed it - visited the trees too often but the course was a great challenge which i cant wait to play again. Very friendly staff within the shop and the clubhouse catering was very good. Stunning setting definetely worth a game if you get the chance.

Alan G
Balfron Golf Club

Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thanks for your kind comments.

See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Just home after a round at Callander Golf Club this morning. It’s a 50 mile round trip for us but well worth the travel and we will definitely play it again.
Like most courses in the area, the greens have suffered through this extended dry spell but you won't catch a Glaswegian complaining about the sunny weather.
If you are looking for a challenging course, stunning scenery, a nice bite to eat and a friendly welcome, give it a try.
Well worth a visit.

Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Manager at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank You for your kind comments - glad you enjoyed your day.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We went up to Callander a couple of weeks ago and to say it's the worst I have played is an understatement, place should be shut down. The so called greens have never been watered during the dry weather we've experienced recently, they were brown and full of sand.

Such a shame as the bar staff and food was great. I asked a few members what had happened to the place and they said the female green keeper chucked it a few months back and they had just replaced her.

Don't waste your time or money, we will never be back and should have got a full refund.

1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Greens Convenor at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment.
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your days golf but appreciate your positive comments about our catering services.
Our greens are watered in the evenings during dry periods but I accept that they were not up to our usual standard at the time you played.
We have had a very difficult winter period which impacted on the condition of the greens.
However, they are now much improved but not yet at the high standard we are aiming for.
We would welcome you back at any time.
If you have a change of mind about playing here again please contact our secretary to discuss.
Kind regards
Greens Convenor


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

9th June 2018.
Well what a waste of a days golf.
The greens and fairways were the worst we have played in.
We will never return ever ever again.
0 out of 10.
Stay clear please.
John from hamilton.

1  Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALLANDERGOLFCLUB, Greens Convenor at Callander Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment.
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your days golf and do not intend playing here again.
In defence of our greens staff we had suffered our worst ever winter period with thirty two days of snow cover and constant rain at other times.
The course is now very much improved and our visitors are enjoying decent fairways and much improved greens.
We still have more work to do to achieve the high standard we have set ourselves and would welcome you back at any time.
Please contact our secretary in this regard if you have a change of mind.
Kind regards
Greens Convenor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Callander Golf Club also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Callander Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing