We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another little gem”

Scottish Real Ale Shop
Ranked #7 of 19 things to do in Callander
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique place in Callander situated in the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park selling over 130 different Scottish Beers by over 30 micro breweries from the Shetlands to the Borders. The largest selection of Scottish Real Ales under one roof.Our passion for Real Ale has long been established at the Lade Inn with our own exclusive house ales, but we wanted to take it one step further and become the central hub for all Scottish Bottled Ales. To make this dream a reality, we converted our old Microbrewery and the Scottish Real Ale Shop opened its doors for the first time in December 2006. We are a one stop shop for Scottish beer, Real Ale Festivals and brewing information; a place where you can purchase that elusive bottle from the Hebrides or that delicious blonde from Islay. We hold a Beer Festival every year and have tastings throughout the summer weekends so you can try before you buy!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Another little gem”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Have been a couple of times over the years, but being from the central belt can get real ale on draught - and in bottle from supermarkets etc - cheaper so didn't buy much. But that's not the point - this is a fantastic selection, in the right place for locals and holiday makers. A shining example of what's best about living nowadays compared to the dreadful old days. Great pub (grub) next door too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheumais_dha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent place with passionate owners”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A real delight to find this place with so many Sottish beers that it was tough to make a choice.

The owners really had a passion for what they were doing - sourcing the numerous ales must be a difficult job and the coverage is brilliant. You only have to be careful you can get them all in the car!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nuthatch_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
498 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We'd gone for lunch in the Lade Inn next door and had been determined to buy some beer from this shop. It is a fantastic place to stock up on Scotland's finest real ales and the service was tremendously friendly. We intended to buy a few and ended up buying about a dozen bottles, non of which we could take back on our flight back south. We'll just have to trust my parents and hope they don't get drunk.

Well worth going in and equally well worth going to the Lade Inn next door to try out their real ale too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and amazing ales”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Great service and selection of ales all of which were delivered promptly and were very much appreciated by the receiver. Quality throughout.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank holli37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
2 reviews
“Real Ale Drinker's Aladins Cave !”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The shop is handily placed next to the Pub where you can sample the LADE INN own brew.
I didn't know this shop existed until we arrived at the pub for lunch but what a delight ! Even my wife was impressed by the huge selection of ales and she hardly drinks.
Hadn't tried any of these ales before but bought a mixed case - so impressed I'm now a member and ordering cases for home delivery in North Wales. The Heather Ale is especially good.
These make a perfect blokey xmas pressie.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scottish Real Ale Shop also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Scottish Real Ale Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing