We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you expect”
Review of Scott's bistro

Scott's bistro
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Depends what you expect”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Booking is essential:
We had a lovely meal at Scotts. The food was great, nothing to complain about at all and the price is very reasonable for the quality.
The lounge bar area is not comfortable and has NO atmosphere at all. The restaurant has lots of small local pictures on the wall but, unless one wishes to disturb fellow diners - they are too small to be able to see the detail or even know what they are depicting.
We rate as very good because the food is VERY good and the prices VERY reasonable for the quality.
We repeated our visit based on the good experience but had difficulty choosing from the menu as it was basically the same as before but certain dishes were 'off' as they had sold out. The service was less good, less friendly, and our table was running late. We still enjoyed our evening out but, our planned 3rd visit was re-planned as we felt let down (even though there was a 50% discount on a 3rd visit. Instead we went to Harbour Cafe and had a great evening out by a roaring log burner. Atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We dined at Scott`s Bistro whilst staying at Tigh Mor.This is one of the best restaurants on any HPB site which therefore means it as good as most better restaurants.We were not disappointed with our meal. The main courses of Venison and Duck leg were both very good indeed.The service was excellent as was the general atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent menu, friendly service great quality food!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at Tigh Mor for a week in September and were delighted to find the Bistro to be well worth a visit. In fact we ate here three nights. Says it all really! Good menu so no duplication even over three nights - and bonus of reduced price on third night. Specials board added extra variety. I had trout one night which was perfectly cooked and sea bass another also excellent. Husband had the venison and beet root casserole which he rated highly. We don't tend to make it to dessert but starters and mains all excellent and well presented. Good choice of wines - very nice Shiraz. Didn't use the take out service but would if we went again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie-121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

One of the best meals we had whilst on holiday based at the Holiday Property Bond site at Tigh Mor. A good choice, with specials on the day. A bustling busy well-run restaurant with with friendly service, and really good value. Make sure you book as almost impossible to get in on the night

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaNorthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good reliable and tasty food”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On the Holiday Property Bond site at Tigh Mor, this is very convenient when staying there. The food is tasty and the staff friendly and helpful. It is sometimes difficult to get a table at popular times (6:30 - 8pm) but they also do take-aways which are good and can prove very handy if unable to get a table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scott's bistro also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Scott's bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing