We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind and thoughtful people in a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden House, Callander
Ranked #15 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kind and thoughtful people in a lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent two nights in this lovely b&b. All three family members at some point went out of their way to provide advice, reservations, travel maps and other supports to our travel. The "extras" were exceptional, including tea and encouragement as we wrestled with some writing. The place is quiet, and right near enjoyable walking trails. A real treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D'Arcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Arden House during our recent tour of Scotland. The house sits on a hill above the town of Callender, near the trailhead to the Bracklinn Falls. Dawn was the perfect hostess who made us feel right at home upon arrival, provided home baked cupcakes and other treats to our room for an afternoon snack, and gave us great advice on local activities and restaurants. We stayed in the Dr. Finlay room (named after the lead character of the BBC television series that used photos of the exterior of this manor house as the fictitious setting for the Dr. Finlay's Casebook show of the 1960's). This room had a nice view toward the town, lovely furnishings, a comfortable bed and adequate bathroom ensuite. Breakfasts were served in a beautiful sunlit dining area. There is free parking available in the back of the house. Overall, a lovely stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

From the moment we checked in nothing was too much trouble for Dawn the Owner, every little detail had been catered for down to bottles of water, chocolates & even a nice pot of tea and cupcakes to welcome you to this beautiful area of Scotland.
We would highly recommend staying here as the House is away from the hustle & bustle of the High Street but close enough to walk for dinner. We stayed in the Tannochbrae Suite which was upstairs & had lovely views down the valley to the River and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if you want views and the Tannochbrae Suite is particularly lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieH476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trierweiler
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Warm welcome with deliciouse homemade cake, when we arrived. Fantastic breakfast with fresh fruits,Cereals, homemade bakery ( Dawn is a Great baker), cooked specialities, Yoghurts, Juices etc.
Dawn and Gary Avery helpful and nice hosts. Also the are the new Inneres and just took over in August 2012, there is nothing they could do better.
Arden House is settled not at the Main Road but at the Edge of the Woods wit nice views. the decoration is selected careful and we liked the fresh flowers everywhere.
WE will be back to this perfect place to explore Scotland.

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs of you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed at Arden house with my mum and dad for 2 nights, and we all felt so welcomed and looked after! Dawn and Gary were lovely and we really enjoyed staying there! Gorgeous rooms for all of us, great breakfast... (too much of it!) and beautiful location!! And my whole family loooved Dawn´s homemade carrot cake..couldnt ask for more!! Thank you very much for making our stay so lovely! :)

From the Del Amo family

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Had a great time at Arden house, really felt at home.This is a new venture for the owners but I think they will do a cracking job, they are a wonderful friendly family, who will go that extra mile for you. Breakfast was good with a wide choice.Large rooms plenty of space to relax after a tiring day sightseeing. The rooms are a little dated, but have everything you need, including homemade cake in your room each day.

The rooms are clean but a little dusty, but they have just taken over the b&b.
Only complaint for us, was weak tea and pale looking toast but that didnt spoil our stay would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Arden House after a mix up with a booking at Dunblane Hydro for our wedding night! It was the best outcome really, we'd never have been made to feel so special in a hotel with hundreds of other guests.

Our room was beautiful, with perfect little touches such as cupcakes and fresh flowers, it was lovely.

The breakfast was delicious, cooked to order and served with a smile.

You must stop by Arden House if you are planning a trip to Callander.

Thank you to your lovely family for welcoming us.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Grandmiaowsterflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#2 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House, Callander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House, Callander

Property: Arden House, Callander
Address: Arden House Bracklinn Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arden House...Arden House is a Victorian stone built property situated in one of the finest positions in Callander. The house stands peacefully in its own attractive gardens overlooking the village, with panoramic views of nearby Ben Ledi and the surrounding countryside and hills. Arden House has ample private parking space, and is only a few minutes walk from the village centre. Callander is known worldwide as 'Tannochbrae,' made famous by the BBC TV series 'Dr Finlay's Casebook.' Arden House was the television home of Drs. Finlay and Cameron and their housekeeper, Janet! Today, we offer three individually styled en suite B&B rooms plus a self-catering studio apartment for two guests. We welcome you to enjoy our relaxing accommodation in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park – the perfect location to enjoy some of the finest scenery in Scotland. The village is centrally located, ideal for sightseeing – Stirling, Oban, St Andrews, the East and West coasts are all within easy reach. Callander is just an hour from Edinburgh and Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arden House, Callander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House, Callander Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing