We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay. They will play bagpipes to get you up ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highland House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Not a bad stay here. The room is comfortable. Room 8. Noisy in the morning when making breakfast and they do play bagpipes and other instruments to make sure you're up.
Noisy toilet sanitary system.
Breakfast is edible though using cheapest ingredients, think supermarket own brand.
Friendly owner and good bike storage.
Difficult to park outside.
Has free wifi.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank GlennTSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Highland House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for two nights at the end of Jan, Tom is an excellent host with his hard working partner Angela. They could not have been more accommodating or helpful. If you like a bit of banter, Tom Is happy to play his part. The accommodation is good value for money. Will definitely be returning later this year.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fenland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for three nights at this lovely hotel right in the centre of Callander. The room, although in need of an update was adequate for our needs with a comfortable bed and warm central heating. We enjoyed a beautifully cooked Scottish breakfast each morning and Angela & Tom were friendly and good hosts - what more could you ask for. Well worth the visit and a very enjoyable stay. We also managed to park on the road outside the hotel which was a plus. Thank you, Angela & Tom - forget to mention the bagpipes - nice touch Tom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had 2 beaut nights at this lovely little hotel. This was a perfect base for exploring Callander, Balquhidder and surrounding area. My husband and I had the double and our young adult son, the single room in our 'private' apartment at the top of the winding 'watch-your-head' tartain-carpeted stairs. Tom was a great host, the cook makes perfectly poached eggs and the stunning floral baskets out front are amazing. Highly recommend. :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank KerenaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Shown to room 5 and refused to stay, left, Wallpaper coming off walls,dampness showing and overall dated and in need of an immediate overhaul. Owner said we could take it or leave it, didn't seem too bothered!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mmmm2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Booked my husband and I a wee overnighter at the Highland House Hotel...paid £65 for a Double room and private bathroom. When we arrived Tony showed us to our bedroom, he told us there was a sink in the bedroom, but we weren't to turn on the taps, as they weren't working. And, across the landing was our "private bathroom"!!! So, everytime we needed the "loo" or wanted to fill up our kettle we had to nip across the landing...not ideal eh? Also, there were tea making facilities in all rooms. On the tray were two teabags and two coffee sachets, so please remember to take your own supplies! Can I add, in the bathroom there was only one toilet roll provided, so remember (again) to take extra supplies!
Best part of the trip.....instead of a morning "gong" Tony played the bagpipes in the morning! Also, serenaded some French who were visiting...excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoolallyMcInally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

three adults and two fifteen year olds stayed here for three nights in August. We were made very welcome by Tom and Angela, the owners. the teenagers loved Toms' patter and talked about him all the way home. Our rooms were clean and perfectly adequate and getting piped downstairs to an excellent breakfast was a first, A most enjoyable break and we will most definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
669 reviews
10.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Hotel

Address: South Church Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range: £60 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Callander
Highland House Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing