We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM”
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely and memorable meal and lovely service.
We braved and tried the local fare of black pudding with goat cheese...YUM
For those that are not so adventurous they have a great selection for any palate and other diners were commenting on how good their meal was.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    89
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Restaurant or bar?”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This place does not really know what it wants to be, bar or restaurant.
The bar takes up a lot of the space and has the normal drinkers draped round it - yet the main area has tables for diners.
You have to check the menu and then go and order at the bar - which can be a bit tight with the drinkers.
The tables.chairs are simple and not too comfortable, guess they don't really want guests staying too long.
The restaurant seems to be family run, going by the ages of the staff. Some staff rushed about far too much making it uncomfortable for diners, I got the impression that the same people were cooking and serving.
Food was no more than average and presentation was really non existent. Nor was it really good value - I had scampi and chips at just under £10.00. With just a few scampi this was poor value for money.
The waitress that came with our food had no idea of wine, handling and the serving of. We noticed that few guests ordered wine by the bottle, most just taking their chances on a glass at a time.
One thing that has to be said, the place was generally clean and the facilities appeared to have been recently upgraded.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

I am sorry that you did not seem to enjoy your visit to the Crown. We certainly consider ourselves to be a pub, that offers unpretentious good wholesome and locally sourced food. A bank holiday weekend does not always see us at our best, we had a record weekend's trading and that may have seemed why our staff were running around. We have a limited wine range, almost all of which has a screw cap which does away with the pouring/ tasting routine as it can't be corked.
We are reviewing our policy on wines currently and are just about to take delivery of wine we have sourced directly fro South Africa and will ensure our staff receive appropriate training. Your assumption that the servers also cooked the food is misguided, we have a Chef who cares a great deal about the food we serve.
Maybe you would be kind enough to return another day and hopefully enjoy a better experience.

Best regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“craic”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had a fantastic night on sunday when the folk trio were on. Get there early if you want a seat! Great staff and good beer. Try the Ossian if you like hand pulled. Gorgeous.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paularmstrong1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Newly Refurbished.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Crown had been refurbished since the last time i had visited and I was pleasantly surprised the bar has been moved creating much more floor space making the pub much more enjoyable to sit in for a quiet drink, or for a night out when they have entertainment on which is most weekends.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stupac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and 18 others arrived for lunch and had a great experience. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The place was vey clean and cosy and we all had plenty of room. Everything had been ore-ordered as we were such a large group and once we were all settled the starters were served. In particular the chicken strips with dip were delicious! The plates were cleared away and then the mains arrived. Didn't feel rushed at all. The battered haddock was enormous and by all accounts very tasty. I had the macaroni cheese and it was amazing! The sauce was so creamy and tasty, a definite recommendation to try. The cost for my starter and main was £13. Not bad at all considering portion size and location. I was so full after that I didn't sample the desserts but I would have no hesitation in returning or encouraging anyone to go.

Helpful?
Thank pammypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Hotel also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing