We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of the Trossachs

Taste of the Trossachs
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Callander
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A must. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Put simply, order the full Scottish breakfast. Had 2 this last week whilst on honeymoon and on my return to Manchester I don't think I will ever have a full English again. Would be no point!
Amazing food in an amazing cafe in an amazing part of the world.

Helpful?
Thank MCB2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    32
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hmmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

It's a few years since I'd been here, but remembered the Taste as being a very worthwhile stop in Callander - a top notch "Spoon" (i.e. great food at great prices!)

Whilst the quality of the food was decent, the prices had gone up a fair bit, and the service was very disappointing. The cafe was not busy when we visited, and the young girl who took the order for the four of us got it wrong. The proprietor was still very friendly, and the food was a reasonably sized portion (though not as large as I remember from previous visitis).

The ice cream is very good, and well worth trying - but overall it didn't quite live up to expectations.

The food is still nice, average value for money, and service now appears to be hit or miss. You could do a lot worse in Callander, but maybe do better too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetallguy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
696DAVID, Owner at Taste of the Trossachs, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.There are a few points (as the owner) i would like to respond to. My wife and I opened Taste of the Trossachs only a year and a half ago. Our portion sizes have never changed and there has only been been a slight price increase since opening and this is due to our suppliers increasing their prices. We pride ourselves on high standards of customer service and due to your review we have reiterated the importance of reading back the order to the customer to insure the order is correct. In your review it states that it had been a few years since you visited, therefore we were probably not the owners at the time. Your review is the exception not the rule as can been seen from our other reviews.
We always appreciate customer feedback as this helps us to improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had the pork roll. Very soggy and pork was just very thin pieces. We also had a small steak pie which was totally dried out and had a strange taste. With a couple of cokes £10 was a bit steep.
Shame as service was great and had a good range of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr-TaxTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Homemade lovelies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had an absolutely gorgeous roast pork and crackling baguette here with stuffing and apple sauce. We'll tasty! Very filling and cooked like a massive roast/carvery

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Had a steak and black pudding pie this was the best pie I have had in years go and have one you will be in haven eating it they fantastic from a coach driver .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of the Trossachs also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Taste of the Trossachs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing