We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra mile”
Review of Coppice House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coppice House
Ranked #1 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lasswade
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Extra mile”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed at Pete's gaff at the weekend, 21 March.
What a wonderful place to be a guest, Pete has limited rooms and that appears it's not your money he is after, with such reasonable rates for the rooms he does use. The building can be utilised much better and create more earnings, but instead you get a more homely welcome and a happy environment for your stay in Callander. I was there only one night and will always pop in in the future as mini break en route up north.
Using the twin room we had a slight mishap with a leaking tap, more noticed by our host as our room was above his living room. No panic and leak over before too much damage ( I hope ) certainly Pete was calm and effectively secured said tap.
cleanliness was what you expect, comfort was equally good, breakfast was very personal to you so if you don't like it it's your own fault, hence mine was great.
Homely atmosphere in and around my room and the dining area and the guest room with books, games and TV.
You know what it was not Callander or the B&B it was Pete and his personal touch.
So if you get a chance give them a try, but expect disappointment if you don't book early.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a twin, no view from small window. So go for a walk as I did, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Co4ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
192
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited Scotland for the first time and it was great!
The most important thing for a great vacation is good accommodation, but calling it "good" wouldnt be enough to describe it.
Our host Pete was waiting for us at the door and welcomed us warm and friendly. Then he showed us everything so that no question was left unanswered.
The room we stayed in was comfortable as well as nicely furnished. Breakfast in the Morning was delicious and my girlfriend already misses the full scottish breakfast she had nearly every morning. Maybe we ask Pete to send some to us.

For everyone who is new to Scotland the always helpful and kind Pete has many good suggestions and ideas what to see and where to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our first stay at this Bed and Breakfast.When we arrived we were met by Pete one of the owners he showed us around and gave us a brief description of the Victorian house he had taken over,Quite an extensive refurbishment had taken place and the hotel was perfect in every way,Pete was an excellent host and provided us with a warm room for our stay,We liked the personal touches like a bottle of water in the room and even after eight mints.The breakfast was cooked to perfection with no expense spared nothing was too much bother,We have stayed many times in Callander and must say this is about as good as it gets,price wise too very good value,Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Try booking this hotel in future One of the best in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Definitely recommend Coppice House to one who looking for a hub from Edinburgh to West High Land, which exactly the route we taken on 30Jan, over one night. Already going dark when we arrived, Coppice is easy to find and has own spacious car park for driving travellers. Only a short walking distance to buying food or dinner, very convenient. The warmest welcome, a pot of hot tea and tasty shortbread from the owner, Pete, finished at the spacious and comfy lounge. This gave us a deep impression on Scottish as it was the first B&B we experienced in Scotland. He is a genuine warm, kind and caring us, always ensure our stay is as perfect as possible. Even a luxury room upgraded without extra rates had been offered. All rooms, lounge, and breakfast room are tastefully decorated, spotless. Breakfast was fabulous and yummy, esp.full cooked breakfast. It was absolutely our luck to stay here, i believe that it is not easy to book during peak season, direct contact in booking may be more effective. Thanks for staying with Pete and Kate, as well as two lovely lab.

Room Tip: All are good, directly booked and speak to owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myc328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My partner and I just spent a lovely night here in this friendly guest house. We were greeted by owners Pete and Kate who offered us tea and showed us around the house. We were recommended places to eat and visit which we appreciated. Our room was large, well decorated and had a lovely view of the (flooded) river. We ordered breakfast the night before which was great as we weren't waiting long. The breakfast choice was considerably large despite only having 3 rooms so there is something for everyone. I will definitely recommend this house and we hope to return during the summer months. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: We recommend the larger room as there was so much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank votelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here last night for our anniversary. We had a lovely welcome from Pete and Kate who showed us around their lovely B&B. Our room was beautifully furnished and we were offered a tea and coffee to enjoy in the comfortable residents lounge.

Pete gave some great advice on where to eat nearby for our evening meal .

Our room was very comfortable and clean with its own en suite. Breakfast was really good, lots of choices from cereals, fruit and pastries to the full cooked breakfast. Fresh coffee or tea. Superb.

On top of all this what made Coppice House even more impressive were all,the little touches that Pete and Katie had thought of. DVDs and books in the residents lounge, to individual toiletries and a chocolate each , a bottle of water and a jar of sweets in your room.

We had gotten used to staying in hotels after a less than exciting stay in a B&B years ago. I have to say this has been a great reintroduction to B&Bs. Kind of makes hotels seems terribly impersonal now. Just hope if we stay in a B&B further away it will be as good.

We'll definitely be back and be recommending it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a very comfortable twin room, lovely furnishings and the residents lounge is just oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I spotted this lovely building on the main street on returning from the Highlands, I knocked the door as passing trade and was delighted that a room was available.
I was not disappointed either.
This lovely Victorian Villa has been transformed into a warm and welcoming B and B by present owners Pete and Katie.
Nothing was too much trouble and Pete made a very welcoming coffee on my arrival.
My room was the smallest of 3 letting rooms but it was immaculate, comfortable and very good value for money. Little extras like bottled water and choc mints were a lovely surprise.
There is a Residents Lounge situated on the same floor as the rooms, and has an assortment of DVD's, large Screen TV, Chess board and several other goodies to keep us guests entertained.
Breakfast did not disappoint either, first class - I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with toast, it was delicious!.
Pete and Katie have only been in the business a short while but already they work as hardened experts, I was very impressed.
The only downfall was the fact that I liked it so much I would have liked to have stayed another night but the Coppice was full! (It was hardly a surprise) !
I would definitely recommend this B and B to anyone who appreciates high standards of service, cleanliness, great food and terrific value for money!
I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 34 in Callander
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#2 of 34 in Callander
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coppice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coppice House

Property: Coppice House
Address: Coppice House Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coppice House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coppice guesthouse, situated in the picturesque village of Callander, is an ideal place to stay and explore the Trossachs in Scotland. The Coppice is a small, family run guesthouse with three bedrooms all featuring ensuite shower rooms, and a comfortable lounge for the use of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Coppice House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coppice House Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing