We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in progress”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Work in progress”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Have stayed here before and knew it needed updating but had read it was taken over by bespoke hotels and was in progress of being refurbished so decided to give it another try. We arrived and were given the keys to the Ecradour suite ( my spelling could bea little off here ) I thing they had over booked as this suite isn't on there website. The suite is at the very top of the building and was like walking into something from a horror movie. Cobwebs, thick layer of dust, peeling wallpaper, black mildew all over the bathroom and the crowning glory was when the taps came off in my hand, I really could have cried. I took myself down to reception and the front of house staff couldn't have been any more helpful, within minutes he had given us another room, although we had to settle for twin beds but so much better. Lovely big rooms but no sign of the microwave, cd player or free Internet mentioned on the website. Very comfy beds and spotless linen but I feel there housekeeping staff lets them down. Little things like stained grouting and dirty piping behind the toilet which would very easily be rectified with a little elbow grease and bleach. The front of house staff were all very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very good, all good quality products. I would stay here again if I could specify I wanted a refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room don't be afraid to complain staff are very good with complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venusinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewenred, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review and yes we are a work in progress and a I look forward to the day we have microwaves and CD players in our rooms although we now have Free Wi-Fi in our Bar. We do have over 30 refurbished rooms and a brand new bar but I accept there is more to do, and I have every intention of doing it. Thank you for your honest and fair review.

Many Thanks

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    103
    102
    95
    141
See reviews for
63
228
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I don't usually bother with trip advisor but felt I had to having read one of the reviews on here. We found to food to be good staff friendly and 3 nights entertainment out 4 and good value for money. We enjoyed our time in Scotland and at the Dreadnought .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewenred, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Many Thanks

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

after a long trip, first appearance looked good , myself and my wife with the rest of the coach
party booked , A comfortable room was found, a good bed not spotless but acceptable
We ventured down for our evening meal there were fifty +us, we found that delivery of
the food was a long wait and as my wife is a diabetic this could give problems
there was a choice ,of food, but we have had much better
the desert was like patterns on plates, some people waited nearly an hour for their
food, the waitresses were running at times but the food did not seem to be available
therefore it was not in their hands, we felt sorry for them! as usual good trips good
coach company, it seems an appearance of people in charge did not give staff the
backing to perform in a hard and difficult environment
I DO NOT THINK WE WILL RETURN a good location but no thanks, DEREK
from norfolk

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewenred, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your response Derek and I have taken on board all your comments and sorry to hear of your hour wait for food? And the patterns on your plate? It a shame your concerns were not mentioned at the time? Because I would have most definitely taken this up with the Chef and the waiting staff as this is not acceptable and something we have before or since never experienced? And our feed back on the food generally is very good. So I am very sorry we have not met your expectations all you comments and observations have been noted and will be acted up on.
Many Thanks
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Callander hotels

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

It was my wedding anniversary and my husband and I went to the dreadnought. we had stayed there before and it was OK. however our recent stay was very different.

our room wasn't ready for our 3pm arrival so we went for a walk, at 3.45 when we went back we were given our room key and went to our room. our room was still not ready so we left our luggage and as we left the room we bumped in to the maid. she spoke very little English and I tried to explain about the room and our cases were in there, she thought we couldn't open the door, took my key and opened the door then held her hands up towards the door as if to say what's the problem. communication was hard and I had to point to the inside off the room before she understood what was wrong. we left her to get on with her job and went down stairs, we couldn't sit in the bar as food was being served and we had our dog with us, so as it was raining we had to sit in the car. I am going through cancer treatment just now and needed my room to rest. we went to the room about half an hour later and the bed was made but the furniture was thick with dust and it was obvious that it had not been hoovered, there was dirty looking marks on the bedding. the whole room was terrible, you had to pump the toilet handle to get the toilet to flush. that's just a few problems with the room.

I asked at the front desk for two tumblers for the room and the person just looked at me so I asked for two whiskey glasses and did hand signs for this, he nodded and got glasses and handed them to me, they were filthy, I couldn't be bothered to try and communicate to ask for clean ones so I just took the two dirty glasses and washed them in my room.

we are really disappointed as this was our wedding anniversary.

on the plus side the dinning staff were very nice and the food good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarywary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewenred, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
I am sorry to read about your experience as I always am when we have not met our customers expectations.We always endeavour to make sure that all rooms are ready for 3pm check in, although when we have a full depart then arrival with only a 4 hour window this can prove difficult.I do except that it has been a problem on the rare occasion and we are working to rectify it.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed the food and service in the restaurant
Thank you for your comments.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stopped over in Callander on the way up to the isles and choose to stay at the Dreadnought.
The building is a throwback to times more grand the times of Lairds in Scotland and their extravagant ways.
On entering the hotel it welcomes you with its lovely foyer and bar area.
The staff are helpful and polite no problems in that area.
Sadly although room we had was very large and the bed very comfortable the decor and fittings are becoming a little tired and really could do with a revamp, the shower over the bath was particularly poor.The breakfast was reasonable.
All in all a good for an overnight stay but any longer I feel I would have not been happy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be noisy due to the main road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickcoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewenred, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your honest a balanced view, we are a work in progress having had some rooms and the Bar area refurbished recently I accept there is more to do.

Many Thanks Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Tired looking interior in need of updating. Bed was very uncomfortable and the fire door banging all night did not help a good nights sleep.
No one at reception the next morning despite several people wanting to check out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveg280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewenred, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
I am very sorry to read about you experience as obviously this not what we are trying to achieve here at the Dreadnought and team and I genuinely are upset when we fail.
Thank you for your comments

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Having read other reviews and opinions of other people who knew the hotel I had a fair idea of what to expect. Yes the hotel is very dated and room was basic with a very old fashioned bathroom but we had our dog with us so we were not expecting a 5 star room. The only faults I would like to point out are : the evening meal on our 1st evening was very bland .We cancelled our meal on the 2nd evening and went for a fish tea at the superb mhor fish restaurant. Also we left our towels on the 2nd morning on the floor as we would have liked fresh ones for the next day, but we were left with the same damp towels which had been neatly folded. On closer inspection to the notice in the bathroom we should have left wet towels in the bath if we wanted fresh ones. I would not return if it was a break for just my husband and myself without the dog. I would like to praise the reception staff and restaurant waitress who were all very pleasant and obliging.Ignore the star rating for swimming pool and fitness centre as there wasn't any. I clicked on these by mistake and couldn't rectify it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewenred, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, although we only use certain rooms for people with dogs and not the newly refurbished ones.
I am also disappointed to read about the food because as well as the TDH menu in the Restaurant we also run a very extensive Bar Menu and a Grill menu in Macnabs.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Many Thanks
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 34 in Callander
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Property: Dreadnought Hotel
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing