We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself visited this hotel a few years ok. Always had a great time. We were quite surprised when we arrived to see that the entertainment lounge is now a restaurant (macnabs) and there was no entertainment on even though outside it says live entertainment every weekend. Spoke to a gentleman and asked about entertainment but his reply was it just depends I asked about future entertainment and his reply was again I can't say it just depends. Even though I told him we were hoping to come up for my mother in laws 50th and that a lot of us would be coming up he made no effort to even check. Room was freezing even though there was two heaters in it. Basic aswell. Bed was comfortable which was good. Although it wasn't it was a double bed it was two singles pushed together. Decided to have dinner in restaurant waited a while and it wasn't worth the wait. The macaroni cheese was very bland no taste at all. And the garlic bread was burnt definitely not worth the wait. My husbands burger was small with a dry roll and dried up coleslaw with no dressing which tasted like it had been lying ages. It was also freezing in there too no fire lit. A lot of people were going to there room and putting jumpers on. The hotel staff didn't seem to care. The sky also wasn't working and the men fixing it looked like a bunch of cowboys. Who didn't have much of a clue. We ended up going along to another bar as it was so cold and boring in hotel. Breakfast well we waited 45 minutes on it then when it came it was all dried up. Left most of it. It's such a shame as this used to be such a great hotel. We always enjoyed our stay. Now it seems not so friendly or enjoyable. I think they really one of the halls for entertainment. I think a lot of people going there after not being for a few years would be shocked.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomibrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    103
    102
    95
    143
See reviews for
64
229
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Where do I begin ok well yes it was on a budget and we took our dog so maybe this is why we did not get a nice room. The room we were in was small and dirty the bed was very uncomfortable full of lumps and bumps that neither of us slept at all, the wall were marked above the bed the paintwork was all chipped and there was a strange odour. The bathroom was disgusting again the paintwork was all chipped and bottom of shower screen was black . The toilet did not flush properly and when did it took ages to fill. It certainly needs a lot work to bring this hotel up to scratch. The bar was ok and the food in the bar was ok. The breakfast was ok although the coffee was freezing and the toast hard and cold obviously made a while before we came down. We cut our stay short as all we wanted to do was get home . Both very disgruntled and tired will certainly not be staying there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Callander hotels

Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

How do I begin? We arrived about two in the afternoon and decided to have lunch. There were no clean cleared tables so we sat at one with dirty plates and glasses. The batman walked past us FIVE times and completely ignored the mess. I cleared it myself putting everything on another dirty table. When we did get our lunch it was ok but that was it only ok.
On the room. At first glance it looked ok with modern furniture etc. then we discovered there was no hair dryer, a toilet roll with about four sheets left and no spare, no hand soap, the toilet door was hard to open and close and there was no bolt on it, the shower had black mould as did the bathroom sink, the shelf below the sink was filthy and the wallpaper in the room was torn.
At night we ordered our meal which took about half an hour to arrive, when we got it my wife's burger was completely raw in the middle - completely unsatisfactory.
On returning to the room the one saviour was the bed. It was very comfortable.
Next morning we were wakened by someone playing a PIANO in the lounge below at 7-30 in the morning.....
Breakfast was ok but not worth the half hour wait we had to get it. No we will never stay there
again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Ok its not the Ritz, but at £30 for a room, and breakfast what can you say? It was clean, the staff friendly and attentive and breakfast in the Edwardian? restaurant a pleasure. I will be back on another budget trip for sure. Reading the reviews I'm not sure why some folk leave home!

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main part of the building near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordicstar284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barga, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I rather like it. It's quirky and I know not the "smartest hotel in town" but the staff are more polite than many a classy joint I've stayed in. Breakfasts are more than adequate and I've not had a sleepless night. If you want ritz Carlton, don't come here but if you want faded grandeur and quirky then you'll enjoy it. Good to see the owners "trying" which I don't see in many upmarket places :)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callendar Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed 1 night. Staff great, dinner very acceptable, tasty & hot & a decent choice BUT room 220 beware. You have to share toilet experiences with your room mate, so make sure it's a very good mate. Paper hanging off half painted shower room. If you can get the toilet door shut it takes a super hero to open it again. Why don't they put the toilet in the middle of the room if they want you to share your personal hygiene with your room mate? I would have been embarrassed to put a dead cat in there, sadly for me & the hotel I got it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strelsa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night during my business trip. My experience was good, the hotel is good value for money, I had a decent and clean room. The staff was very friendly and enjoyed the bar during the evening very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHPS_EvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 34 in Callander
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Property: Dreadnought Hotel
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing