We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“judge for yourself!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Reviewed 3 February 2014

stayed 1/2/14 with my husband and friend. i had read the reviews and checked in with an open mind. having been in hospitality at management level for a long time nothing much surprises me with hotels, the property is in need of serious investment, for the age of the building i found it characterless and a bit bland and boring, but the bedrooms i was in a DS room at the side of the building 201 was clean and functional for purpose. i only paid 3* prices and i got what i paid for. my friend`s room was the same clean tidy and with all the things needed. the breakfast on Sunday was fine i would probably question the quality of the ingredients, but it was cooked well and served very efficiently by a lovely young girl. i have heard that new owners have taken over this information i got from some local people. i think the owners deserve a chance to improve the hotel, it is a really fantastic old building i would stay again good luck with the refurbishment

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionaham60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

just back from this hotel. booked for 2 nights but stayed for 1, says it all, our room 117 was on the main road and there was only single glazed windows and it felt like our room was on a busy roundabout. the room was cold but the noisy electric heater took the edge off the cold. the room was next to the fire escape and the all the smokers on our level would bang the door open at all hours for a smoke. the noise of the door opening was like a hammer been hit on the room wall and smell of cigarettes for a non smoker was disgusting. trying to sleep with all this going on was a challenge. the hallways need upgraded they looked dirty and dated.the carpets need cleaned or replaced.the car park or what is call a car park is a dirty patch at the back of the hotel if you don't get parked there it looks like there is only public parking. the room and bathroom was clean the shower didn't work but they also need upgraded. the bar area was nice it looks like the only place to have been giving an upgrade. the food was excellent. the staff were nice and pleasant. wont be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I book the hotel as I am going through some hospital treatment & needed a nice relaxing time away from my troubles.
I was very disappointed in every aspect of the hotel, first off the door was off the bottom hinge & could be pushed open from the bottom there was also a gap around the door which with the light from the corridor lite up the full room. Obviously not secure.
There was 1 very small heater in the room and when off you could feel the draft coming through the window.
The bed sunk in the middle therefore very uncomfortable, there was a dripping sound rather loud from the bathroom (not a tap) now this would be enough to send you over the edge while trying to get a sleep the window was banging very loudly & even the couple in the naibouring room commented on it. Can I also add it was not blowing a gale out side.
So both me & my partner exhausted went down to breakfast. The order was wrong & stone cold it also seamed as though it had been left lying for over an hour, also there was something floating in my tea.
Can I just add I have never complained I'm a put up & shut up kind of person weather you believe that or not. I think a couple of the above would have been fine but with all this added together?
I am discussed that the hotel is still open.
I know I paid £50 for the stay but that £50 did nothing but cause me stress & a nights sleep I didn't need at this particular time.
THE HOTELS REPLY TO THIS IS AS FOLLOWS

This room that these people stayed in is a lovely front facing room which has been refurbished and is excellent value! In fact it is
worth a lot more than he paid for it! This is a discounted price in January! and we have nothing further to say on the matter!

B Ogunyemi
Reservations
Dreadnought Hotel
Station Road
Callander, FK17 8AN
TEL: 01877 330184
FAX: 01877 330228

This explains everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Dreadnought was Ok for a one night stay. The rooms are clean but very dated and in need of redecoration. Room was cold at first until the electric heater had been on for a few hours. Good value at only £45 for a double

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBRambling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

what a great stay my friends and i had at this hotel on 11/01/14.Clean tidy friendly helpfull hard working staff.Meals were very good and portion sizes good too.New owners are starting to bring this hotel up to date and looking to provide more entertainment for the guests.Their lounge / bar area is very nice and well decorated.Our room, 116 was large and well equiped with extra seating at the window to take in the beautifull views.we will be returning for another stay soon thanks ..

Room Tip: 116 is a twin room at the front of the hotel with fantastic views ask for a front room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules505067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you like an old fashioned type hotel then this ideal for people who like to go for walks and the shopping is quite good to, but back to the hotel, the staff is very helpful and the rooms are clean and tidy also there is some times evening entertainment at the weekends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andir00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We decided to spend a night in Callander last week and we wanted something cheap. We booked this hotel because it was the cheapest one in the area.
We were not expecting luxury. The room we got was fine. It was warm and the bed was comfortable, that was all we needed.
Everything in the room worked. The bar area was nice, the drinks were reasonably priced.
We didn't eat here so can't comment on that.
All the staff were nice and friendly.
We had a great nights sleep, there was no noise from outside.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crags Hotel
Crags Hotel
#17 of 34 in Callander
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing