We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointed”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Reviewed 13 November 2009

having read the reviews of this hotel i was a bit wary,but we got such a good deal at £30 each dinner,bed/breakfast. alas i now know why!
room was not as clean as it should be,dinner was just ok, entertainment-guy on keyboard tried hard but with only 3 people in lounge it was a non starter.
great location but in need of a lot of money spent on this place and it maybe could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate Donnelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed here for one night as a stopover before travelling further North. On arrival it was not immediately obvious where the car park was and on enquiring we were directed to a narrow driveway down the side of the hotel which led to a muddy, potholed area with a derelict building in the middle of it surrounded by cars fairly haphazardly parked as there were no designated bays. Checking in we found the receptionist to be friendly and helpful and our room was adequate and clean, although the bathroom door did not shut without a great deal of effort and there was no shower, which would have been an issue if we were staying longer than one night. The hotel in general was tired but clean and warm and there was no musty smell which other reviewers have noted. Dinner was at best adequate although there was an issue with one of the starters not being cooked properly and the dessert was miniscule (a piece of gateau less than one inch wide which took all of three spoonfuls to eat). Breakfast was better than average in a hotel of this size with a good selection although not all the food was ready at the stated time of 8am. Generally however the meal service was good and the staff friendly.
All in all we would possibly use this hotel again for a one night stopover if the price was right but not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Turkey and Tinsell Short break. Fortunately our tour company was excellent and professional, making our daytime excursions the only redeeming factor ot this break. We changed rooms three times due to many problems including, Missing smoke alarm, missing shower head, bug infestation, chipped bath, carpets, curtains and crockery were filthy. Upon check out we discovered the room we were finally offered as a last resort had been refused only minutes before by another of our party, by this time we were fed up with changing rooms. However we found the Local supermarket, bought bleach and other cleaning products and cleaned up, most surely an experience made tolerable by the company we were in and to some extent the food.. On the positive side Callendar is a great town the Rob Roy exhibition interesting local shopkeepers welcoming and surrounding area magic.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nybyvagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously and your experience by no means reflects our usual standard of service, for example and for other potential guests, please see the below review. I am pleased to learn that the team saw fit to offer you a choice of alternative bedrooms following your comments, however I am unaware of any issues relating to bug infestations and can confirm we have not recevied any similar comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

we cant understand the bad things said about this basic but lovely hotel.the staff were very polite,helpful and cheerful.breakfast was lovely as were the evening meals, always hot,tasty.for the money we paid it was 100% value for money. needed a bit of paint here and there but hey who cares it did not bother us and certainly did not spoil our holiday we had a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel with really nice people and will certainly will stay there again! well done to the staff at the dreadnaught and a big thank you for making our stay so happy!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southwalestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

Thank you for posting your review, I was delighted to read your kind words regarding the helpfulness of the staff and will ensure that your comments are passed to the team. Thank you also for commenting that you enjoyed your evening meals and breakfast and that you felt your stay was value for money. We would like to wish you all the best for your future travels and do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Dreadnought in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

went with easybreaks and reported all the faults to hotel manager and easybreaks.
neither gave me any hope that improvements will happen.
Water for soup . wash hand basin in bedroom as bathroom was so small. Mother kept awake due to water dripping next to bed. Mud bath outside, it was called car park. no alcohol free beer or wine. Drinks expensive. Staff inexperienced. no entertainment.
Faulty Towers now looks good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neverinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay in August 2009. I was pleased to note that you rated our location as excellent and that you found our standards of cleanliness very good. We have an ongoing programme of investment across all properties and, whilst I am sure you will appreciate the difficulties the current economic climate presents, this programme is continuing. We do provide regular entertainment throughout the summer months and it was unfortunate this was not taking place on the night that you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

3 of is took advantage of a "special" deal of £20.00 pppn bb&em on the Sunday. We arrived around 12.30 p.m. and were promptly told that we could not book in until 3.00p.m.
When we asked if we could go to the lounge for a drink or a coffee we were told they were not open as they had a record/cd sale going on in the lounge but there was a few eating places in the main street if we wanted something. As two of us have walking difficulties and it was chucking down with rain we were rather loathe to walk about however we did find a nice wee cafe that did us proud. We returned to this sad old hotel which was badly run down and given the keys to our rooms. Luckily my friends husband was with us and managed to cope with our luggage as no one was going to help us get them to our rooms which I must say were clean and adequate. We dressed for dinner and have to say the starter of pate was nice. I ordered the cold chicken salad and my friends the roast beef dinner and her husband had the fish. My friends enjoyed their meals however my chicken when I turned it over was undercooked. The one waitress serving the whole room of maybe 23 diners asked us if everything had been ok as she cleared the plates to which I replied well yes if I wanted food poisoning as the chicken was raw in parts to which she said oh sorry and walked away. We had ordered the cheesecake for dessert and it came swimming in watery cream and soggy because it had been sitting so long. So I can only say my meal was rotten.
When we left next day we never even got a hope you enjoyed your stay or bye nice to see you hope you come again. All in all a big disappointment and an embarrassing experience for me as I had rated it an ok hotel to my friends. Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Givemesunshine-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

IThank you for posting your recent comments. The Receptionist did provide the correct information that our check in time is any time after 3pm, however I was upset to learn that you were unable to be served a drink at the time of your arrival and will investigate this with the appropriate members of staff. I was delighted to learn that your friends enjoyed their meals although I was very concerned to read the comments of your own main course. Please be assured that had this been brought to the attention of the waiting staff at the beginning of your meal this would have been investigated by the Chef and rectified immediately with a new dish being served to you. I was pleased to read that you scored us highly for our location and cleanliness and that you found our rooms of good standard. Feedback such as yours is always welcome in helping us to improve our hotel and the service we offer our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

this hotel was very dirty with big balls of fluff behind doors, dirty windowsills and grubby bedding. Friends single room had a leaky ceiling so requested another room which was very dark and dreary. Food was adequate but sometimes poorly cooked . would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy2009Thornaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

I was most disappointed to read your posting regarding your stay with us and would like to apologise for the standard of cleanliness within your bedroom. Whilst there can be no excuse for what you have described, I am confident that had you brought this matter to our attention at the time of your stay we could have immediately resolved your concerns. The standards of cleanliness you describe are certainly not in keeping with our usual high standards; as you can read from the reviews below, other guests describe the hotel as clean with excellent food. I was pleased to note that you scored our location and service very highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing