We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT GO THERE”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Welshpool Powys
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO THERE”
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Went to this hotel on "Tinsel and Turkey" coach trip. Bus Driver was excellent and 2 young girls who waited on the tables at the hotel were also very good. That is the sum total of the good news.
Hotel was dirty, carpet in bedroom hadn't been hoovered neither had rest of hotel. Roof in reception leaked, manager said it had been fixed and now only leaks in very heavy rain - confidence is restored, NOT. Scarily, there were bedrooms directly above the leaky roof...!
The food was a disgrace eg rice pudding had to be cut with a knife, porridge was lumpy and the Christmas Dinner replica was poor; no cranberry sauce and generally poor.
The manager was nowhere to be seen and refused to come down to reception to hear the complaints on behalf of our party.
When I say the place was dirty, I mean dirty as in unhygienic and in need of a good clean, this is filth above and beyond the tired decor.
The location and building has a great deal of promise if it were maintained and run well.
If you've booked, take my advice and cancel - there are a lot of much nicer places in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
We have recently spent several thousand pounds repairing the roof and this work continues as further problems are uncovered. I would like to assure you that we are committed to maintaining the building and restoring the property to it’s full potential. I cannot, however, excuse the poor quality of food and cleanliness. As you will read from my other comments we are committed to addressing these points and from some of the positive reviews we have received I hope you will appreciated that your experience was one of a few isolated incidents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    103
    102
    95
    143
See reviews for
64
229
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

i took 47 friends to the dreadnought and boy was i disappointed. i had visited this hotel about 6 years ago, and the hotel was lovely.since then the hotel has really gone downhill.they have not got enough staff to cope.during our stay there was another coach load in .then during the week a private party was going on upstairs. there was only 4 waiting staff and the assistant manager in to serve about 100 people plus running the bar.how the staff cope i do not know they were run off there feet.2 tables of my party did not have there sweet one night because they got tired of waiting.the carpet in the dining room was filthy, a butter pat wrapper was besides our table all week,i don;t know how long it had been there.my bedroom had dog fur all over the carpet,and the wardrobe looked so unsafe we dare not open it.our complaints were passed from one manager to another,no one wanted the blame.would i go there again not on your nelly.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tingtong37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Dreadnought hotel. Clearly we were experiencing a number of challenges during your stay and I would like to assure you that these are being rectified. I have discussed your comments with the team here at the Dreadnought and would like to assure you that whilst the building is old we cannot accept poor standards of cleanliness. All of us here are committed to addressing the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Callander hotels

west lothian
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

having read the reviews of this hotel i was a bit wary,but we got such a good deal at £30 each dinner,bed/breakfast. alas i now know why!
room was not as clean as it should be,dinner was just ok, entertainment-guy on keyboard tried hard but with only 3 people in lounge it was a non starter.
great location but in need of a lot of money spent on this place and it maybe could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed here for one night as a stopover before travelling further North. On arrival it was not immediately obvious where the car park was and on enquiring we were directed to a narrow driveway down the side of the hotel which led to a muddy, potholed area with a derelict building in the middle of it surrounded by cars fairly haphazardly parked as there were no designated bays. Checking in we found the receptionist to be friendly and helpful and our room was adequate and clean, although the bathroom door did not shut without a great deal of effort and there was no shower, which would have been an issue if we were staying longer than one night. The hotel in general was tired but clean and warm and there was no musty smell which other reviewers have noted. Dinner was at best adequate although there was an issue with one of the starters not being cooked properly and the dessert was miniscule (a piece of gateau less than one inch wide which took all of three spoonfuls to eat). Breakfast was better than average in a hotel of this size with a good selection although not all the food was ready at the stated time of 8am. Generally however the meal service was good and the staff friendly.
All in all we would possibly use this hotel again for a one night stopover if the price was right but not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Turkey and Tinsell Short break. Fortunately our tour company was excellent and professional, making our daytime excursions the only redeeming factor ot this break. We changed rooms three times due to many problems including, Missing smoke alarm, missing shower head, bug infestation, chipped bath, carpets, curtains and crockery were filthy. Upon check out we discovered the room we were finally offered as a last resort had been refused only minutes before by another of our party, by this time we were fed up with changing rooms. However we found the Local supermarket, bought bleach and other cleaning products and cleaned up, most surely an experience made tolerable by the company we were in and to some extent the food.. On the positive side Callendar is a great town the Rob Roy exhibition interesting local shopkeepers welcoming and surrounding area magic.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nybyvagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously and your experience by no means reflects our usual standard of service, for example and for other potential guests, please see the below review. I am pleased to learn that the team saw fit to offer you a choice of alternative bedrooms following your comments, however I am unaware of any issues relating to bug infestations and can confirm we have not recevied any similar comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

we cant understand the bad things said about this basic but lovely hotel.the staff were very polite,helpful and cheerful.breakfast was lovely as were the evening meals, always hot,tasty.for the money we paid it was 100% value for money. needed a bit of paint here and there but hey who cares it did not bother us and certainly did not spoil our holiday we had a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel with really nice people and will certainly will stay there again! well done to the staff at the dreadnaught and a big thank you for making our stay so happy!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southwalestom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Thank you for posting your review, I was delighted to read your kind words regarding the helpfulness of the staff and will ensure that your comments are passed to the team. Thank you also for commenting that you enjoyed your evening meals and breakfast and that you felt your stay was value for money. We would like to wish you all the best for your future travels and do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Dreadnought in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

went with easybreaks and reported all the faults to hotel manager and easybreaks.
neither gave me any hope that improvements will happen.
Water for soup . wash hand basin in bedroom as bathroom was so small. Mother kept awake due to water dripping next to bed. Mud bath outside, it was called car park. no alcohol free beer or wine. Drinks expensive. Staff inexperienced. no entertainment.
Faulty Towers now looks good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay in August 2009. I was pleased to note that you rated our location as excellent and that you found our standards of cleanliness very good. We have an ongoing programme of investment across all properties and, whilst I am sure you will appreciate the difficulties the current economic climate presents, this programme is continuing. We do provide regular entertainment throughout the summer months and it was unfortunate this was not taking place on the night that you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 34 in Callander
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Property: Dreadnought Hotel
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing