We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay.”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Now there's a thing, we arrived at the hotel feeling a little reserved after reading some
reviews however the time we spent told a different story. The Dreadnought, it's manager and staff must be part of the few things in life that are still built around customer satisfaction. Most hotels we have visited in the last few years are generally 'just a place to stay'. Here we felt that we were looked after very well and the staff went out of their way to make us feel very welcome, at home and looked after us very well. Staying there made our whole trip to Callander one of the best. Although the hotel has been around for well over 100 years and you could tell a bit, all of the guests including oursleves were in good company. We stayed in for dinner and what a pleasure it was where the staff again were very attentive and the food was superb. We met a lot of lovely couples and really enjoyed our stay. For those who like to get out and about, this is ideally situated in the heart of Scotland, walks, cycles and other attractions nearby. We met a lot of lovely couples here and really enjoyed our stay. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

Just back from two nights in this hotel. first room we were given was dark and cold with chipped bath so after asking for change was given a choice of two rooms. The room we selected was warm and clean.On the first night dinner menu was very basic and meal was rushed; tea and coffee being served along with your sweet.The second night menu was better than the first (probably due to a Rotary Meeting sharing the same menu rather than luck). The lounge area was cold(two electric fan heaters at bar) and uninviting so returned to our room after dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayMaker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2010

Please accept my apologies for the short fall in standards at the hotel and i have spoken to my heads of department and action will be taken to improve our service . I hope it has not put you off returning to the Dreadnought .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Stayed at hotel in late January for a few days.Room clean and had everything we could have wanted, tea and coffee making facilities an unexpected bonus.We had a good view of nearby mountains and river across the road.Breakfast was very good with all we could have wanted, dinner of 3 courses also very good.Portions not huge , but adequate and left enough space for a few drinks. Entertainment in lounge on saturday . 2 down points which could easily be rectified, window in bathroom was huge and plain glass, disconcerting if you forgot to close curtains and lounge areas were cold.All in all we had a good weekend and certainly felt we had value for money.Hotel is in need of some upgrading and renovation but if you want 4 stars you need to pay the price.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank katrinamac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Went to this hotel on "Tinsel and Turkey" coach trip. Bus Driver was excellent and 2 young girls who waited on the tables at the hotel were also very good. That is the sum total of the good news.
Hotel was dirty, carpet in bedroom hadn't been hoovered neither had rest of hotel. Roof in reception leaked, manager said it had been fixed and now only leaks in very heavy rain - confidence is restored, NOT. Scarily, there were bedrooms directly above the leaky roof...!
The food was a disgrace eg rice pudding had to be cut with a knife, porridge was lumpy and the Christmas Dinner replica was poor; no cranberry sauce and generally poor.
The manager was nowhere to be seen and refused to come down to reception to hear the complaints on behalf of our party.
When I say the place was dirty, I mean dirty as in unhygienic and in need of a good clean, this is filth above and beyond the tired decor.
The location and building has a great deal of promise if it were maintained and run well.
If you've booked, take my advice and cancel - there are a lot of much nicer places in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

We have recently spent several thousand pounds repairing the roof and this work continues as further problems are uncovered. I would like to assure you that we are committed to maintaining the building and restoring the property to it’s full potential. I cannot, however, excuse the poor quality of food and cleanliness. As you will read from my other comments we are committed to addressing these points and from some of the positive reviews we have received I hope you will appreciated that your experience was one of a few isolated incidents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

i took 47 friends to the dreadnought and boy was i disappointed. i had visited this hotel about 6 years ago, and the hotel was lovely.since then the hotel has really gone downhill.they have not got enough staff to cope.during our stay there was another coach load in .then during the week a private party was going on upstairs. there was only 4 waiting staff and the assistant manager in to serve about 100 people plus running the bar.how the staff cope i do not know they were run off there feet.2 tables of my party did not have there sweet one night because they got tired of waiting.the carpet in the dining room was filthy, a butter pat wrapper was besides our table all week,i don;t know how long it had been there.my bedroom had dog fur all over the carpet,and the wardrobe looked so unsafe we dare not open it.our complaints were passed from one manager to another,no one wanted the blame.would i go there again not on your nelly.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingtong37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Dreadnought hotel. Clearly we were experiencing a number of challenges during your stay and I would like to assure you that these are being rectified. I have discussed your comments with the team here at the Dreadnought and would like to assure you that whilst the building is old we cannot accept poor standards of cleanliness. All of us here are committed to addressing the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

having read the reviews of this hotel i was a bit wary,but we got such a good deal at £30 each dinner,bed/breakfast. alas i now know why!
room was not as clean as it should be,dinner was just ok, entertainment-guy on keyboard tried hard but with only 3 people in lounge it was a non starter.
great location but in need of a lot of money spent on this place and it maybe could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate Donnelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We stayed here for one night as a stopover before travelling further North. On arrival it was not immediately obvious where the car park was and on enquiring we were directed to a narrow driveway down the side of the hotel which led to a muddy, potholed area with a derelict building in the middle of it surrounded by cars fairly haphazardly parked as there were no designated bays. Checking in we found the receptionist to be friendly and helpful and our room was adequate and clean, although the bathroom door did not shut without a great deal of effort and there was no shower, which would have been an issue if we were staying longer than one night. The hotel in general was tired but clean and warm and there was no musty smell which other reviewers have noted. Dinner was at best adequate although there was an issue with one of the starters not being cooked properly and the dessert was miniscule (a piece of gateau less than one inch wide which took all of three spoonfuls to eat). Breakfast was better than average in a hotel of this size with a good selection although not all the food was ready at the stated time of 8am. Generally however the meal service was good and the staff friendly.
All in all we would possibly use this hotel again for a one night stopover if the price was right but not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rattyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Callander
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing