We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best night out in a long time!!!!”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best night out in a long time!!!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We arrived in the dark so missed alot of the scenery on the way up to the hotel, however when we arrived at the hotel we were received with a very warm welcome and a fantastic atmosphere in the bar. Our room was perfect. Tv, en suite, double bed, view. It was great! We met a few of our friends for dinner and again could not find fault in dinner. The only thing that puzzled us was that someone has placed this hotel as poor on tripadvisor. As a group we think that person must be a bit mad!!!! Best weekend ever.

Room Tip: They were all great rooms and lovey location. Just enjoy your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind a review of our hotel.
We are really pleased that you had such a great time, please bear in mind that we have an offer on just now - stay three nights and only pay for two! With live entertainment on Friday and Saturday you could have a super stay again, only longer.
Please come and see us again, a warm welcome awaits!

Best regards
Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    59
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
140
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We visited this hotel for a meal on Saturday 3rd November food was excellent and staff very friendly. There was also a singer on and she was very good. We had a very entertaining night out and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are delighted that you had a good time and enjoyed yourself.
Why not stay over in one of our lovely redeveloped bedrooms next time, there will be loads of offers on now that our traditional summer season has ended.
The same great food and live entertainment are on all year round and you don't need to drive home.
Thank you for writing such a kind review.

Best regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Thank you very much for our wonderful stay during August. After visiting Callander for a wedding and staying at a different hotel down the road we decided to extend our stay in Scotland by one night and booked in at The Crown.

We booked 2 double rooms and both were lovely. From the huge (and very comfortable bed) to the thick curtains, very nicely done bathroom and the most beautiful tartan carpet (you must tell me where it's from!!!) we couldn't have asked for anything better, and all at such a reasonable and competitive price.

Bill is a very attentive host. Very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Whilst in the bar my 1 year old son began to cry and Bill brought over a teddy for him to keep my son and the other diners happy. A gesture which saved me the embarrassment of upsetting other diners and is very much appreciated.

The breakfast was very tasty (cooked by the hostess, sorry I didn't catch her name!) and rounded off the trip nicely.

Thanks again, you are doing a wonderful job, so much so that I felt compelled to write my first Tripadvisor review. Keep up the good work!




  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaFromNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.
Ishbel and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay,
Being grandparents, the 'Teddy remedy' comes naturally,
A warm welcome awaits you and your family the next time
you are in the area - the autumnal scenary is stunning just now!
Haste ye back!

Best Regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Recently stayed overnight at the Crown hotel. The hotel is a traditional Scottish high street hotel which has been extensively refurbished. The hotel is fresh, modern and very tastefully decorated and appointed to a very high standard. The room we had was immaculately clean and well presented, fittings and fixtures were all of a very high standard and the bed was brilliant. In particular the shower was large, very modern and high powered. We ate in the pub area downstairs, again service and quality of food was excellent, very generous portion sizes with a varied Scottish themed menu.

We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of staying in this area of Scotland, the quality of the refurbishment is top notch down to the luxurious towels and touch sensitive mirror in the bathroom.

Room Tip: All rooms have been fully returned recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
It is a pleasure to be of service to such nice guests, please don't make it too
long till you return.

Best regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Enjoyed a two night stay with my son. Lovely fresh, clean, modern accommodation. Comfortable beds. Very friendly and prompt service at Breakfast and also in Bar. We had met the Barman earlier in the day at the Tourist Info Centre where he was equally as friendly! Bar meals are traditional pub grub, good home cooking here, large portions. Little bit of noise heard in room from Bar in late evening was only very slight negative. Would definitely stay again and can recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjr666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff
friendly and of assistance. It certainly helps when they can combine
their other talents and Ronnies knowledge of the area comes in very
handy.
Haste ye back!

Best Regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrickfergus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed in Callander last year for a few days and enjoyed some fine food and drink in the Crown hotel (which then was just a public house and restaurant). This year i came back and stayed in the newly refurbished hotel and was delighted. From the moment i arrived i was treated like royalty,the staff were all most helpful and could'nt do enough, the room was superb the food was excellent and made our stay so enjoyable.Cant thank the management and all the staff enough. I was informed i was the first booking the hotel had taken and am delighted to have stayed in this hotel.many thanks to all concerned and will recommend this place to anyone and everyone. hope to return some time in the future and can think of no better place in this location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silbasCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel.
Ishbel, all of the staff and I are privellaged to be of service to such nice people.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you
back in the future.

Haste ye back!

Best regards

Bill & Ishbel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

After reading the excellent reviews of The Crown Hotel, we booked a four night stay as a base to explore The Trossachs. Were the staff and owners friendly and welcoming? They were! Was our room beautifully decorated and pristine? It was! Did we enjoythe food? We certainly did! Would you find better value for money in Callander? You wouldn't! Don't waste time wondering about whether or not to stay at The Crown. Just go!

Room Tip: Room 1 is rather small if you have a lot of luggage, as there is little storage. Room 5 is bright an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333JaneT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
Ishbel and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, you have no idea how much the staff
get a lift from a little bit of praise, thank you so much.
Please do come and stay again, a warm welcome awaits.

Best regards

Bill and Ishbel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
653 reviews
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 13 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing