We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed here last night and have to say it was perfect. The room had clearly been refurbished and it was to a very high standard. The shower was amazing ! We ate in the bar and cleared our plates , it was delicious . Breakfast had a great selection of cereals and our cooked breakfast was big, hot and tasty. There was a local folk band in the bar who were great and the place was jumping , great atmosphere. Ishabell and Bill were the perfect hosts and took there time to make you feel very welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. A wee gem of a place , thank you once again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needabreak0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

What a great stay we had, staff and owners were lovely, food was delicious especially the pasta dish, just too much on the plate though:), Entertainment fabulous, room was spotless and very comfy. Breakfast was amazing although we had a slight criticism on our last morning that we didn't get what we ordered and not just one thing, it was 3 things on each of our plates that were different to what we had ordered hence the 4 stars and not 5, we would certainly stay again as we have found a Gem in Callander. Thank you so much for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghillie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Me and my husband stayed for a night whilst attending a wedding in Callander. We were met at the door by the owner, Bill, who runs the hotel with his wife, Ishabel. A lovely couple who will go out their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
The hotel looks old from the outside but is modern inside with a bar on the ground floor and the rooms on the floor above.
We arrived about 2.40pm, our room wasn't quite ready but that didn't bother us as we were just dumping our belongings then heading out. Our room was fresh, clean and modern. It had a massive bed, flat screen tv on wall, and a brand new bathroom. The shower was big with a powerful mains shower and it had a mirror above the sink with a plug for shavers. The room was a bit warm, but it was 27 degrees outside, so I can't complain, and there was a portable fan plugged in to cool us down. The room also had a cupboard for storage, bedside tables and a full length mirror on the wall.
We ate in the bar for dinner with another couple, the food was delicious, served in good time was also reasonably priced. The breakfast was also good, with choices of cereal, porridge, toast, fruit, yoghurt, various cooked items, fruit juice, tea and coffee.
When visiting Callander again, I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Visited here 2day and it was lovely. Th bar staff and other customers were so friendly and helpful. The lady working cldnt hv done enuf 4 us!! The food was amaaaazin!! Go for the fish and chips! I can't wait 2 go back. Thank u.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great value, great customer service. The owners are wonderful hosts and were able to provide us with suggestions I the different area attractions. Food and entertainment were excellent. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I'm with a group of friends doing the Loch & Glens North cycle ride from Inverness to Glasgow. We stayed in The Crown for our last night and were impressed with attentive service, cleanliness of the room, good powerful shower (well received after a day in the saddle) and the quality and value of the food served at dinner. Would definetly recommend The Crown for other cyclists doing the route.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable stay.The Crown hotel was very clean,staff were helpful and friendly.The food was very good and the entertainment that was on was very good.The acts could have started slightly later and played longer,giving people time to get ready and eat after a day of touring.The only real drawback was parking,it was by luck if a space was found across the road,otherwise parking was 100metres along the road.Really nothing could be faulted and we would definitely stay in The Crown Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
133 reviews
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 13 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range: £79 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing