We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
east lothian scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellant accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for one night during a very wet cold August. The room was delightful and we both felt that they had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. So many hotel rooms do not have enough shelf space in the bathroom, not the case in our room. Lovely big, comfortable bed, good powerful shower and large towels. Even the loo paper was quilted, a nice touch. We paid the extra £10 to have a bigger room and the size was just right (room no. 5). The owners could not have been nicer, the staff were well trained and very pleasant. We did not eat there in the evening, but sat in the bar listening to a local group of musicians, who were brilliant. Breakfast was very good and ingredients locally bought. My only quibble was that the TV was on permanently in the bar, even when the band was playing, though the sound was off.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneydare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    56
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
134
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My brother and I (from the USA) stayed for 3 days (fri-sun) in a twin room. We chose the Crown based upon all the other reviews as lodging in the area was kind of a shot in the dark for us. We couldn't have been happier. From the moment we walked in after a long day of travel we felt comfortable. The staff were gracious and helpful. The rooms were clean. Also, as others mentioned, the water pressure for the shower was great which really helped after a long hike up Ben Ledi. The food was topnotch. Do yourself a favor and include the breakfast. We also had wifi in our room. We really hit the mark with this one. It was in a great location. Easy transport to Castle Doune and Stirling Castle. Only wish we could have had more time in Callandar. Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dviner46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I booked the Crown Hotel for a group of 19 people as part of our Church outing. The group included a variety of different ages and the menu had lots on offer to suit everyone.
I called and spoke with the staff several times to organise the booking and each time they could not have been more helpful.
The meals were excellent and it was obvious that all food was freshly prepared by experienced chefs. Our group thoroughly enjoyed their options and would highly recommend the macaroni cheese, steak pie or haddock and chips (the batter was especially tasty!).
For a tourist hotspot the Crown Hotel offers bar lunches at good prices, freshly decorated clean premises and above all friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballasalla isle of Man
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Refurbished hotel completed to a high standard. Our Room small no space for a chair, but then most people only staying for a few days before moving on. Bed very comfortable. Space under window for suitcase. Breakfast superb, cooked to order in small kitchen attached to breakfast room which is on first floor. All staff very friendly.
Food in restaurant very good. Chef certainly knows how to cook fish so it retained its moisture.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are an early to bed light sleeper you may prefer not to have room one as it is next to breakf...
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels not changed every day of stay. Though sure if a guest requested them changed the staff would.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kangaroo-iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had two rooms, a double and a twin for one night (a Wednesday). Twin a little on the small side but both rooms were very well decorated and laid out. We were expecting 70's style old fashioned rooms over a pub but what we got was a really modern 'hotel' experience. We ate in the pub for dinner, food very nice good value for money and the staff very nice. The pub was busy so it had a nice atmosphere but not so busy that you felt suffocated. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheadle1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We were a party of 3, 2 adults and 1 teenage. We got 2 rooms that were adjacent. Ours was small but with all the facilities and our son's room was ok size. The view was nice and the beds were comfortable. The hotel was clean as was the rooms. The owners were very welcoming and gave us good advices as we toured around. Breakfast is served in a separate room on 2nd floor and was good. The pub is nice and we ate there a couple of times. You have a goof Wi-Fi in the hotel and we had no problem with the Internet connection.
The hotel is located near the park and our son could go each morning for a run.
On weekends they have entertainment in the Bar.
We had a car and didn't find it all a problem to park for free near the hotel. There is a pay park near the hotel (cost 3 pound per day), but again we didn't use it.
All in all we had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed just one night. There is no parking which we hadn't realised but you can park in side streets and there is a pay car park nearby. The hotel is over a pub which they warn maybe noisy at the weekends. It is possible to eat in the pub, we didn't so can't comment. The service/reception girl was helpful and friendly.
The room was small but very very clean and new. The shower good and the bed comfortable and large. For one night passing through it was fine but I wouldn't opt to stay longer.
Breakfast, served in a small upstairs room was very good, freshly prepared and with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 13 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8DU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing