We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Callander”

The Old Rectory Inn
Ranked #16 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dalkeith, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food in Callander”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very resonable prices, live music every wed (Pure Malt) and Sat, unfortunately they ran out of a few of the dishes on the menu

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RubyWednesday23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We ate in The Old Rectory a couple of times and thought it was great food and good value for money. If anything, the portions were too big for some of the meals! Very pleasant, helpful staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet efficient service great food reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was recommended this restaurant by a local and I was not disappointed. The service was quiet and efficient, ok we had to wait a little longer for our food than we expected but hey food of this quality is worth the wait and the price well that's a bonus!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goosergood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First rate all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We used this as our local whilst on holiday in Callander, can only say it is a small but wonderful gem the food was excellent the beer was always good and the choice of whiskies was immense, a small bar where you become friends with everyone in there. good entertainment most nights and the barman, Peter is a valuable asset, talkative and polite and so laid back, wish this bar was in my home town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Got what we paid for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Went here for dinner and for the live music. Enjoyed a lovely meal. Asked for something slightly different from the menu and they were happy to oblige. Friendly and welcoming. Would go again. Yes, it is a bit old fashioned but why not? Not everyone likes modern and bland. Its got character. Well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank izzybac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Rectory Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Old Rectory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing