We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This should be scoring higher, it's great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waverley Hotel

The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #19 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
215 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“This should be scoring higher, it's great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After we'd sat down and ordered from a friendly girl, I used the free wifi to check tripadvisor and was surprised how low down it scored.

Friendly service, good food.

Burger with chips etc and I had chicken goujons with a sweet chilli sauce and rice. Very tasty indeed. Two glasses of house wine, which were perfectly acceptable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JemimaLollipop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    101
    37
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“"Awesome Lunch"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a wonderful lunch, my husband had the prawn and smoked salmon salad and I had the salmon special with a maple syrup glaze, served with potatoes, and fresh carrots and green beans. Our food was excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAlwaysWantToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“called for a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The waverley was very pleasant friendly enough but we had only popped in for a drink so hard to make fair judgment!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best in Callander”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

But frankly you might be better to leave Callander altogether.

Had two hours to wait in the vicinity, mid-week, off-season. Callander is a strange place, busy with tourists but probably no return business. Judging from the quality here...

The Waverly was the only place open that looked like it didn't smell. Tried to get a coffee, a coke, and a power supply for a laptop. Got instead two vessels of fluid, one seemed to be a hot version of the other, neither tasted at all like coffee or coke. Both were literally un-drinkable.

Entertained by a small group of locals apparently trying to stave off cirrhosis by making occasional loud hissing noises.

It's only an hour by road to Glasgow.

So two stars for Callander, but zero anywhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank ricky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean friendly . Nice lounge area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went for mother day bit disappointed never had the meal I fancied but alternative was very tasty. 2nd visit to this place pleased on both occasions.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirkton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waverley Hotel also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing