We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, attentive staff and lovely decor.”
Review of Spice Delight

Spice Delight
Ranked #37 of 45 Restaurants in Callander
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Barley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, attentive staff and lovely decor.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We normally eat Asian food on a weekly basis so whilst on holiday we usually look for a quality Asian restaurant and to be honest we are usually disappointed. WE WERE NOT DISSAPOINTED AT THIS RESTAURANT. The food was absolutely delicious, We had the mix share starter and then Chicken Dhansak and Chicken Jalfrezi both of which just had the right amount of kick and were spiced to perfection. The Keema rice was also fabulous and the accompanying Pashwari nan just yummy. The service was attentive and the owners very friendly and helpful. The décor was bright and trendy and certainly a pleasure to visit. If we didn't live 4 hours away we would definitely be regular visitors to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    17
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This Nepalese/Indian restaurant in Callander deserves to succeed. The owner and his wife are very nice people who try very hard to please. The food is very tasty, well presented and not overpriced. The lunch set menu portions are not very big but the price is low. If you give it a try I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie-BPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real gem in Callander. You won't be disappointed.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently under new ownership. Due to the previous experiences this was not recommended in our guide in the accommodation we were staying. As my husband is vegetarian, Indian is usually a good option so we decided to give it a try !
A lovely welcome, good choices of dishes and good value. We enjoyed all our dishes and there were some new ones we had not experienced before.
Decor was very modern and attractive. Manager very accommodating and helpful. We visited twice during our stay and would definitely return on a future visit to the area.
Do try this restaurant, I don't think you will be disappointed. They are trying hard to build a reputation under new ownership. Good luck to it, it should do well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAJC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice food, fairly slow service (but we were first in there on a Sunday evening)
Some of my chicken seemed pretty tough (perhaps leg rather than breast) but in general a nice meal that we all enjoyed

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pgrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best indian food ever”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Brilliant service - only 2 of us in the restaurant which I was surprised at as the night before was packed - the food was out of this world and well priced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzieadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Delight also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Spice Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing