We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in the Trossachs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westerton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Aurora, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfection in the Trossachs!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

There are many reasons why Lesley and Mike's Westerton Bed and Breakfast is number one in the area. From the moment we arrived until the moment we departed, Lesley and Mike went out of their way to create absolute perfection!
When we arrived, we were graciously offered tea and biscuits in the "breakfast room," which overlooks the beautiful grounds Westerton sits upon, and any stress from the day's travels just slipped away. We immediately understood that Leslie and Mike's mission is to make their guests as comfortable and welcome as possible, truly a home away from home.
We had the pleasure of staying in the "Blue Room." Of all bed and breakfasts we stayed, it was the best room we have enjoyed thus far. It was incredibly clean, well-appointed, organized, and oh so beautiful. We were fortunate to have the view of the garden from our window; I could have sat for hours and just watched the landscape...just lovely. The bed was so comfortable, providing further relaxation.
The breakfasts were delicious! We have many dietary restrictions, and Leslie and Mike went out of her way to accommodate them. (We later learned that Lesley has a background in nutrition, yet another plus.)
Westerton is situated in a perfect area for exploring the Trossachs; it is even located within walking distance of several very nice restaurants.
Not only did Lesley and Mike provide an impeccable place to stay, but they proved to be excellent ambassadors for the area as well. Maps were available for guests to use, and Lesley and Mike were more than willing to provide additional directions and offer suggestions. In fact, we had an early morning tour scheduled at our next destination, and we underestimated the drive time, even though we had specific directions and drive times from the internet. If Lesley and Mike did not take it upon themselves to alert us to this fact, we would have missed the tour completely!
Modifying our drive time meant a VERY early morning departure from Westerton. Not wanting to put out our gracious hosts, we told them we didn't expect to see them in the morning for our departure, telling them fruit would suffice for breakfast. However, once we went downstairs, we were greeted by soft candlelight filling the breakfast room. Lesley was there, sure to greet us with a nice breakfast and a comforting send-off. Sitting in that breakfast room, enjoying our breakfast, while watching the candles gently flicker in the early morning light, made it especially difficult to leave this truly restful place. Lesley was also sure to send us off with some rice milk; she worried we wouldn't have access to any at our next destination.
All of those wonderful gestures truly capture the essence of Lesley and Mike and their beautiful Westerton, where the comfort of guests is truly paramount. We wish we would have booked our entire stay at this one location, the beautiful Westerton.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
272
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladbeck, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and it as easily the best Bed and Breakfast we have ever been to. Mike and Lesley were extremely friendly and helpful - they are really perfect hosts. We stayed in the Green Room, which is very nicely furnished and has space enough for two comfortable armchairs in addition to a king-size bed. The bathroom is small but totally sufficient, with a nice assortment of shower-products for use.
Breakfast is served in an elegant room with a large round tables for each room (there are only three, which adds to the relaxed atmosphere of the place). My husband enjoyed the 'posh' breakfast (scrambled egg with salmon) while I had a fantastic vegetarian pancake. The choice was hard though, because the menu was very rich and varied.
We didn't have time to explore the beautiful garden behind the house but are really looking forward to do so during our next visit.

Room Tip: The Green Room was simply beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We found Mike and Lesley"s service excellent! The old house has been perfectly restored in original english style and the garden is part of the beauty. We spent afternoon reading in the garden looking at the river just in front and drinking tea, offered by Mike and Lesley.
The athmosphere is very quiet and elegant, as a 5 stars hotel, especially for Mike and Lesley"s kindness. We will visit them again as soon as possible! Valeria and Gianluca

Room Tip: each of the three rooms is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our first time staying with Mike & Lesley - but it certainly won't be the last! We had stayed in Callander many times before but after our previous b & b closed we decided to try elsewhere. We recently stayed for 7 nights, 5 nights in the Gold room & 2 nights in the Blue room. Both rooms were beautifully decorated & furnished, so comfortable & views to die for. Everything that has been said in other reviews about the delicious breakfasts & afternoon teas of shortbread & strawberries is absolutely true, but we think the greatest praise of all should go to Mike & Lesley themselves - kindness to their guests & making each person feel special is their best asset. We will certainly be staying with you again (as soon as possible!!) Margaret & Robert

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 669Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Westerton b&b in July and thoroughly enjoyed every moment. Mike and Lesley are 5 star hosts and couldn't do enough for you. On arrival we were treated to a silver service afternoon tea with shortbread and strawberries on the patio, overlooking the garden. Just beautiful. We treated ourselves to the blue room, which is huge and has the most comfortable bed. Had a great night sleep. Breakfast was fantastic with a great selection of fresh frui tsalad and lovely cooked options if you wanted. The home made granola is very yummy. Great coffee also. The b&b is beautifully decorated and a credit to you both. We really enjoyed our chats.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay, we didn't want to leave.
Leanne & Don, Tasmania

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but choose the blue for a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Thank you Mike and Lesley for your hospitality and great breakfast whilst staying at your fabulous bed and breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish we could have stayed longer. Next time we visit Callander we will definitely stay with you again.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our third visit and we have yet to find a fault with Westerton. The rooms are light and spacious ,beautifully furnished and scrupulously clean. Mike and Lealey could not be more helpful. I can not think of a better place to stay.

Room Tip: The Blue room is large with a lovely spacious bathroom and views of the garden and river. the Gold r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Colincampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
265 reviews
10.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 34 in Callander
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#2 of 34 in Callander
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westerton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westerton Bed and Breakfast

Property: Westerton Bed and Breakfast
Address: Westerton Leny Road | Westerton, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westerton Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Westerton, a relaxed and friendly country house style Bed & Breakfast set in a large riverbank garden at the west end of Callander.  The picturesque Trossachs town of Callander is just a short drive from the historic sites of Stirling and Doune Castle and is an ideal central location to explore and enjoy the stunning scenery of Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park and the Scottish Highlands beyond. Choose from three beautifully inviting guest bedrooms, all exclusively for adults, a perfect place to relax and unwind . . . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Westerton Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westerton Bed And Breakfast Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing