We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in a superior room for two nights. Excellent hotel with very friendly owners and staff. Room was clean and functional. Food was excellent. Overall we found Poppies to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    59
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
172
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We turned up at 7/8ish without a booking for the restaurant (5 adults (1 elderly) & 2 children) and the owners couldnt have been more accomodating to fit us in and took pity on us standing out in the rain looking for somewhere to eat! Service was top class, food was amazing, even helped us with our parking arrangements as place was busy! Cant wait to dine again as 2 of us in the group are fairly local albeit new to the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchinleck, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a lovely two nights here and loved it. Rooms comfortable and clean. Yes toilet/shower on small side but more than adequate. The food and service were excellent and loved our evening meals. The owners/staff were very friendly and helpful and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelGA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Had high expectations of Poppies after all the glowing reviews and from pictures on the website but was a bit disappointed with the room (standard). The room was a good size but the ensuite was more of a cupboard with only a shower and toilet with a sliding door. The room itself was spotless but a bit tired looking.

Breakfast was delicious - good choice of fruit and cooked breakfast although waiting staff forgot to bring the toast.

Did not meet the owners but staff were pleasant and helpful. Very useful to have parking on site.

Friends stayed at the nearby Annfield B&B which looked better value for money in terms of the room and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westend79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed three nights at Poppies as our headquarters for touring the Trossachs area with our twelve-year-old granddaughter. Our room was very pleasant, and the hotel within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and the visitor information center in Callander. Meals were a delight with a gourmet dinner menu and breakfasts with hot items plus a cold buffet. We enjoyed a "wee dram" (Irn Bru for our granddaughter) in the bar area while our evening meal was being prepared. Poppies was one of our top favorites of the eleven places we stayed on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi43833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We ate twice in the restaurant of this hotel and found both the service and the food to be very good. The early bird menu is a particularly good value. You begin service in the very cozy bar and move to your table when the food is ready. The bar has a huge selection of single malts, arranged in alphabetical order. It is a challenging sight!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimCincinnati_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I just came back after speding my Easter break in this establishment and I have (almost) nothing but praise for it. It is in fact exactly what I look for after long days spent hiking or walking: clean, cosy and, most of all, extremely friendly. I had dinner every day during my five days stay in the restaurant (plus one lunch) and the food was not simply excellent, but also very well presented. My only remark - and the reason why it took me tn minutes only to decide whether to award four or five stars - is that it is more expensive than other establishments in the area. In a local B&B you can in fact expect to spend significantly less than the Poppies, although for a lower quality service. For me, choice-deciding factor was the well-reviewed restaurant, but price is an issue, perhaps you might want to divert your attention elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gersenkirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing