We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. We specially wanted to stay the night of the Murder, Mystery and we weren't disappointed. The event, food and hospitality were excellent and I would certainly return to Poppies.The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and just what we were looking for. The room was a bit small and there were a few minor details but I think they must just have finished refurbing the room. However, nothing to detract from an enjoyable, fun and relaxed stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    61
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
172
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice comfortable room. Lovely welcome, pleasant relaxing ambiance in the bar and would recommend it to friend if they were visiting this area and I'd happily return. Breakfast excellent .Sadly I did not try the evening meal as I had a large lunch elsewhere before we booked in

Room Tip: Remember to visit the Kremlin falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherking332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here 6 th and 7th hotel have two babies and the owners and all staff could not do enough for us poppy our eldest daughter 18 months even helped with a checkout! Would recommend to everybody looking to stay in this beautiful village :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great food in the restaurant of this hotel, much of it is sourced locally. Very good selection of dishes. Rooms very clean and well equipped with shampoo, hairdryer, iron, kettle etc. Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are quieter and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I had the early bird menu on a weeknight. It's excellent value - around £18 for 3 courses - and good quality. We enjoyed a drink in the bar while we perused the menu and we were then taken to our table. Susan - the owner - understood that we only had an hour to have our three courses and was receptive to any requests we had.

The food was excellent and Poppies deserves to do well, particularly with this menu available. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkymalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We were walking the Rob Roy Way and stayed and ate at Callander's Poppies Hotel.
The room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent as was the dram with which we rounded off our meal. We'd unhesitatingly recommend this excellent hotel, restaurant and bar.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glaswegian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We were here for our mothers 65th birthday. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and the food was impeccable. I had the mussels and chicken breast. The carrots were cooked in honey and had a lovely sweet taste. Best carrots I have ever had. The mussels and chicken were cooked to perfection. The wines were lovely. The breakfast was delicious. The owners made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definitely be back. The hotel was clean and will recommend to others.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing