We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well situated hotel with good food and famur whiskey bar !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
eschentzwiller
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very well situated hotel with good food and famur whiskey bar !”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

we got the "nicest" room, nr 9 I think, with the bow window, enough space, big bathroom, nice view outside, recently renovated; small park in front of the hotel, you can go to Callander (small town or big village) by walking, it is close to the Trossachs national park
we had a very good breakfast, diner was included in the price of the room as requested
the bar is one of a list of 100 recognized bars in Scotland ( more than 100 whiskeys available)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabetlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    61
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
172
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne, uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A group of seven of us were cycling to John O'Groats and stopped here for a night. We were warmly welcomed and our bikes safely locked away in a safe room at the back of the hotel. My room was a delight, comfortable, well equipped (Scottish Fine Soaps goodies), and quiet. I slept well. We ate in the hotel and had a good meal. We enjoyed a whisky in the bar afterwards. Breakfast was very filling and set us up nicely for the day ahead. It wasn't the cheapest place in town but I felt it was good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this hotel for a 70th celebration for my dear aunt. Perfect choice great welcome great service great location and lovely ambiance. Food was superb and choice of wines excellent. I would certainly recommend this hotel if ever you are in Callander region. Thank you for a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had booked at another hotel but were asked (very nicely and at no expense to us) to vacate our room for a wedding party.
Looked at TripAdvisor and chose Poppies and very glad we did. Nice warm, friendly, helpful welcome up to a very clean comfortable room. We'd booked dinner but hadn't specified a time and quite a few diners were booked in. Nevertheless after just a 20 minute wait we were found a table and an excellent meal was enjoyed without feeling rushed. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
A good night's sleep had us relaxed and ready for the next stage of our journey - but only after we'd enjoyed breakfast cooked to the same high standard as dinner.
Will definitely stay again if we are in the area and will most certainly recommend Poppies to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. We specially wanted to stay the night of the Murder, Mystery and we weren't disappointed. The event, food and hospitality were excellent and I would certainly return to Poppies.The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and just what we were looking for. The room was a bit small and there were a few minor details but I think they must just have finished refurbing the room. However, nothing to detract from an enjoyable, fun and relaxed stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice comfortable room. Lovely welcome, pleasant relaxing ambiance in the bar and would recommend it to friend if they were visiting this area and I'd happily return. Breakfast excellent .Sadly I did not try the evening meal as I had a large lunch elsewhere before we booked in

Room Tip: Remember to visit the Kremlin falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherking332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here 6 th and 7th hotel have two babies and the owners and all staff could not do enough for us poppy our eldest daughter 18 months even helped with a checkout! Would recommend to everybody looking to stay in this beautiful village :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing