We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Our party of 13 unanimously voted this the best hotel during our tour of Scotland in classic MG cars. The welcome was excellent. Rooms varied greatly in size and amenties but all were exceptionally clean , comfortable and quiet. The bar and restaurant service was charming and attentive and the standard of cuisine lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dowdyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

Spent 3 nights over the East Weekend in this lovely friendly small hotel. Rooms clean and food excellent. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firefox50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

My friend and I stayed in Room 9, a twin room, right beside reception. It was very nicely decorated, modern and very clean. Small bathroom but did the job fine! The restaurant is well worth a visit. The food was absolutely delicious and we didn't leave feeling bloated or skint! The owners are lovely and the service is relaxed and unpretentious. very much recommend this hotel, and I'll definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piperpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We are fairly local to the Poppies hotel,and wanted somewhere for an overnight stay to make our weekend different.
The Poppies were advertising a murder/mystery evening and we decided to join them for Saturday 31/ January.
On booking the hotel,we were given a superior room for the price of a standard room,as it was the last room left.<well done>
Check in was polite and friendly and our suitcase was carried up the narrow stair to our bedroom on the first floor.
Our superior room,was a bit stuck in the 1960's and there was a sad looking stainless steel towel holder in the bathroom,that had seen much better days. That said, the room was functional, clean and comfortable and provided everything we needed for an overnight stay.
It is evident that much could be done to improve a lot of the public areas,however the owners made up for a lot of the overall tiredness of the hotel.
Their attention to their guests was very plain to see,and I'm sure they work long and hard to provide the standard of service that they do.
Having read other reviews I have to agree,the best part of the stay was the food,dinner was very tasty and well presented,however the main meal portions were not overgenerous. Breakfast was excellent and could rate alongside any hotel,boasting more stars than the Poppies 3.
The murder/mystery presentation was very well done and if you see the Poppies advertising a future event,we thought that overall we had value for money.
If I can be of any help,please do not hesitate to contact me on the usual e mail address.
alfiebear1950 @hotmail.com

Happy holidaying
Alistair

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Alistair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DakotaWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DavidfromPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
269 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
133 reviews
17.5 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range: £80 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing