We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
US$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
US$802
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$640
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Churches House Hotel(Dunblane)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
198
71
31
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
71
31
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomowners and staffwell stocked barlovely hotelboth breakfast and dinnersmall bathroomwhiskey barbooked latepoppy seedpleasant surroundingsshower and toiletthe ground floorfirst classbay windowcooked to perfectiontwo nightswarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at Poppies for two nights and wished it could have been a longer stay. We received a very warm welcome. Both John and Susan (the owners) and their staff were all very helpful and were always available to offer assistance if required. Our room was very light, airy and spacious. The newly refurbished bar area has been beautifully decorated with a lot of attention to detail. It is a warm place to relax for a drink after a day out sightseeing or for an apperitif before dinner. We only ate in the restaurant for one of our nights but wish we had eaten there for both evenings. The menu offers a good choice of food which is beautifully presented and tastes delicious. We were delighted to have found this little gem and hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackinjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

After reading the reviews, we were very excited about staying at Poppies Hotel. However, when we arrived at London Heathrow, after flying overnight from Chicago, we were told the Scottish airspace was closed due to volcano ash. We spent several hours at the airport trying to find another way to travel to Scotland. British Air said they had arranged a motor coach, so we waited in line for about an hour and no bus arrived. Then we looked into taking a train, but that didn't work out. So, at around 3:00 P.M. we decided to rent a car and drive to Scotland. We called Poppies at that time and told them what were were doing and that we would still try to get there that night. They said that was fine and to let them know before 6:00 P.M. if we thought we would be unable to get there.
After finding our way out of London and traveling for a while, we were just exhausted from being up for over 36 hours. The trip was taking longer than we anticipated, so we decided to stop somewhere in England and resume our drive the next day in the daylight. Being unfamiliar with the roads, we didn't want to attempt driving in the dark. We called Poppies at 4:30 P.M. and told them we would not be able to make it there. They said they understood and would not charge us. We were very pleased with that and said we would hope to visit them on another trip.
However, when we arrived back home in Illinois, and reviewing our VISA bill, Poppies charged us for the night anyway. After several emails back and forth, Poppies said they thought is was possible for us to make the journey, and would not remove the charge on our VISA. We are very unhappy about what happened and do not think they acted in a professional manner.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank zzephyrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We had a 2 night stay in Poppies for my mums 75th birhday. What a beautiful chilled out weekend! The management and staff were a delight!. My mum and dad both had a marvellous time and loved their spacious, extremely comfy bedroom. The food was delicious; both the lovely choice at breakfast and our dinner in the resaurant.
I would like to thank the the management for their incredible hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My husband wanted to treat me to a night out and chose Poppies from a web search. We have often gone past it and thought how picturesque it looked. And we were not disappointed, From the moment we stepped into the lounge we were given a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. A three course meal that was worthy of a fine dining meal cost us only £16.00 each. Delicious food and lovely coffee to round it off. The dining room itself was spotlessly clean and well decorated and the staff attentive but not intrusive. Just what you need on a romantic night out. We will definately be going again and have booked for Sunday lunch. We can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkinwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Spent 3 nights and had a great stay. Room was spacious and clean. Bar area has recently been refurbished in light oak and gives a bright airy feeling. Food in restaurant is fresh and great value with a breakfast that will keep you going for most of the day. This is the second year we have stayed here and would not hesitate to return. Worth stopping to have a meal even if not staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesmahagow_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews