We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, great place to stay in Callander”
Review of Roslin Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roslin Cottage
Ranked #14 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Rang
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, great place to stay in Callander”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It was our 1st night in Scotland and we stayed in Roslin Cottage.
We had a warm welcome from Sidney and Lucy the owners of this lovely B&B. The bedroom was quite small (as we were travelling by motorbike we had bulky stuff with us), but it was very confortable, with a beautiful view on the garden.
Even if the street is noisy during the day, it's really quiet during the night.
You can walk about 10/15 min to the center of Callander, and you have all the shops and restaurants and pubs nearby.
Tha breakfast was really good, congrats to the Chef ! Sid cooked us a great Scottish breakfast, including the famous haggis, which is delicious actually. We were in a family-friendly environment, we almost felt like home.
We really recommend this place for the cheap price, the authenticity and the kindness of Sid and Lucy ! No need to mention the delicious Scottish breakfast...
Merci pour tout !

Room Tip: ask for the cherry view bedroom if you want to have a quiet night you won't hear the noise of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandbikers7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    29
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
91
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a lovely B&B! We had the smaller room, but it still had all amenities and was very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic, and we were made to feel very at home thanks to the warmth of owners Sid and Lucy. It really was a home from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCollarbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had one night here on our way through . A very small room, but fine for one night stay. Very clean and comfortable, with our room overlooking the delightful garden. Lovely hosts Lucy and Syd. Very helpful folder of local information made our quest for an evening meal much easier to manage. Syd cooked up a storm for breakfast... Full Scottish, with haggis to die for! Simply wonderful, served in a beautiful dining room, sharing a table with other guests...a great opportunity to chat and get some more travel tips of the surrounding area. Would recommend this as very good value.

Room Tip: The small room overlooks the garden and is away from the road, so it is very quiet if you like a pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Like staying in a lovely guest room at a friend's house. Big bed, lovely clean bathroom. Good DVD selection and DVD player in room. Breakfast classic Scottish with special touches. Only drawbacks are that it's almost a full mile out of town and also on the main road so can hear traffic going by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsonweekends71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in Sid & Lucy's B&B in July, and were very pleased. Warm welcome, cosy room, Superb breakfast! Bedroom was nice, but not really big. But it was not as bad as this other reviewer claimed. I saw the room he had been in and the complaints were really uncalled for.The bathroom was clean, but it took us a while though to figure out how to turn on the shower (apparently, with a switch that was situated in the corridor :-D ). Thank you Sid & Lucy for making our trip to Scotland so great!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanne972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annesley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in Roslin Cottage for 2 nights in July whilst touring Scotland. It is without a doubt one of the best b&bs we stayed in during our tour and was excellent value for money.

The room we stayed in was pleasant, spacious and well decorated with an ensuite bathroom which was clean and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. On the landing there are a variety of books, dvds and information leaflets as well as tea and coffee etc. making facilities.

Breakfast is a communal affair with all the guests seated around one large dining table. It was really good to talk to other people about their travels (while we were there we met couples from Germany and Singapore). The breakfast itself was cooked by Sid, who is a professional chef at one of castles, and it was delicious including local sausage, haggis and black pudding on a platter for each couple. Lucy and Sid were fantastic hosts and offered us great advice during our stay on the area and were only too happy to cater for coeliac dietary requirements (cereal and toast as well as a full Scottish breakfast).

Thank you for a lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexltl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an organized cycle trip. Lucy and Sid welcomed us warmly, and we enjoyed the best (porridge+continental) breakfast ever in their beautiful stonewalled dining room. Lovely atmosphere, just a bit outside town (not too much to walk, though).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suvalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
405 reviews
0.8 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 34 in Callander
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ben A'an House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Inn
The Old Rectory Inn
#12 of 34 in Callander
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Cottage

Property: Roslin Cottage
Address: Roslin Cottage Lagrannoch | Stirling Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roslin Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roslin Cottage B&B sits at the east gateway to Callander coming from Stirling. It is a great base for exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs, Scotland's first National Park. Our stone walled cottage, built in 1700's, now completely renovated keeping original features, exposed beams in the lounge with open log fire. Kirtle bedroom too has exposed stone wall and whirlpool bath en-suite. Cherryview our small double room (can be a single) overlooks our tranquil garden. No gardening duties included. Ben Ledi room, can have cot or small bed for 1 child added. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Generous traditional Scottish breakfast cooked by resident chef Sid helped by partner 'apprentice' Lucy. Special diets (with notice appreciated). We aim to make our home your home throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roslin Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roslin Cottage Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing