We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here. Avoid this place even if you are desprate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dalgair House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked this for the weekend for my husband's Birthday and when i spoke to the person on the phone she did explain that they had only a family room left for the Friday and that the room was already booked out for the Saturday. She then went on to say that they had a doubled room free on the Saturday for us that's if we didn't mind changing from one room to another the following day, to which i didn't mind.
We arrived on the Friday and checked in and was shown to our room which was named Drunken, it was very basic something what you would probably expect if you were a young back packer and sleeping in a dorm with others. It had 2 single beds and a double bed it was very dated and unwelcoming but hey we though oh well it's only for one night and were were informed that on the Saturday we would be moving into room 9 which was nicer.
Saturday came and we were shown to our second room which we were taken through a door that had a Private sign to it...I thought that it was a bit strange but we carried on to the end of the corridor to which was the laundry room and outside of it was stacks of toilet rolls, we were shown into our new room and that's when the penny dropped...Along with my jaw.

Shock and horror is only the best way to describe it. Yes there was a doubled bed but not only one, there were two doubled beds. The cheap laminate flooring was warped and dated, there was what i could only describe looked like a rather old dark wooden coffin...We were expecting a corps to be inside of it, but we were told was a sideboard... curtains were hanging off all the windows, the bathroom/shower room was dirty and the tiles on the floor needed to be re grouted or better still taken up and redone, the wardrobe well lets just say that it was a very small cupboard that had a tacky bedded curtain instead of a door, the ceiling was full of what looked like water staining, all the windows were full of mold and to finish it off the smell of damp was overpowering.

Needless to say we were NOT happy and went to down to speak to the manager, instead we were greeted by the owner Greg...which i discovered later and thought at least he would accommodate us and apologizes for the inconvenience caused. But no he was very obnoxious and rude.
My friend...Who was staying at another hotel named the Waverly Hotel and who was helping me carry my suitcase has asked him the question..." what about customer satisfaction and being right and pleasing the customer". to which his answer was NO..."Customers are not right". He even went as far as to bad mouth other surrounding Hotels...Which while i was trying to find accommodation and visited they looked far nicer than this place

This so called obnoxious, arrogant self opinionated owner was NOT helpful at all and should NOT even be granted the 2star that he has.

Needles to say we found a lovely little B&B. BUT will NOT EVER step foot in this place ever again.

Good points: Some of the staff were very nice & friendly.
Food was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 19michelle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rekkie, Owner at Dalgair House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

The reviewer did not book a room on the Saturday and because we tried to help by offering them a room outwith the hotel as the town was full, the reviewer decided to write a scathing review as they felt they did not get your own way. As the review is factually incorrect and does not represent the rooms the manager or the hotel i have asked Tripadvisor to remove it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were looking through the window of their cafe when the owner came out basically to tout for business. He asked if we would like a meal there, but I said we needed a room for the night. He explained that he was fully booked but did have a spare room that could be rented. As most of the other B & Bs were full, we decided to take a look. The price was reasonable.
The room was situated at the back of the premises over the rear bar. It needed a thorough clean and we were assured that this would take place soon. It was not. We arrived much later around 9 pm. Although there were fresh toiletries and towels in the en-suite wet room, it had not been cleaned. The sink still had dried soap stains in and around it. There was only a small amount of toilet paper so my husband had to go looking for another. There were some rolls stored on shelving outside our room. The waste paper bin under the desk was still full including a newspaper dated two days previously. The huge sideboard was extremely dusty and I was able to write a message in the dust on the shelf below - sorry couldn't resist! The room had been aired but it was obvious that no cleaning of any kind had taken place. Also, one of the towels left on the single bed felt damp and was stained. The shower was barely warm, not a pleasant experience.
Even though we were offered 'the spare room', we still expected a good standard as full paying guests.
We could not fault the breakfast, however, it was well cooked and tasty. The staff were friendly and very helpful. There was a good selection of items on offer. The decor was somewhat tired but it was clean thank goodness. Probably would not stay there again, but would go for lunch if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ells57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Greg,(Owner)
You & your TEAM/STAFF, especially "James" made our 3 night stay memorable.
You all provided both my partner & I with a home from home stay.
Nothing was a problem, food was brilliant.
Out of 10 we would have to give you 11.
If anyone is looking for a great safe/friendly & value for money Hotel then look no further.
As I have already said, all the staff/team & owner make your stay that little bit special.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully as we stayed in "Drunkie, Rm 2" well we all know it is true, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LairdofDunans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We decided to stay a night in Callander on the way home from RHS.

We could not complain at the price £30 per person with Breakfast in the morning.

The room was dated but Clean, Fresh bedding, towels and a spacious bedroom and bathroom.

We decided after a Evening stroll to have afew drinks in the bar, we were looking forward to the Live music. Lovely Folk band played and there was a great atmosphere in the bar area.
All the bar staff and the locals were friendly.
We Had super fun into the small early hours.

In the Morning went downstairs to enjoy a breakfast, good service and a 5* breakfast. Really was very tasty and very well cooked. Only comment a cheap sausage but even that was OK, im just being fussy!

Would definitely return! :-)

Room Tip: Room 2 Named 'Drunkie' was ideal for a Family or 3 close friends. Large, clean and a good si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated on the high street in Callander and we managed to get a good deal on the room. Firstly this is not a hotel, just a pub with rooms. The rooms were large but grubby, tatty around the edges and in desperate need of cleaning and modernisation. There was blue tac holding up the television and tape wraped around the radiator in the bathroom. You collect your keys from the bar which is a little disconcerting. The bar was very noisy in the evening which meant I had to listen to shouting and loud music until midnight. The breakfast was plain and unimpressive. Wished I'd spent more money and stayed somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank isla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This has been the cheapest option of all the hotels and B&B's we have stayed in on our trip north. It's all a bit worn out, the fan in the bathroom made a horrendous noise but the water was hot! The room was clean, and the breakfasts freshly cooked. It is in the Main Street but the rooms are at the back so not too noisy. Fair value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindafromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my mum and sister we were greeted by friendly staff, our room wasnt ready so we were given complimentary tea and scones then shown to our beautiful family room on the first floor it was spacious, clean and comfortable.

We had the bed and breakfast package which was very reasonably priced.

The food is excellent value for money and there is a varied choice on the menu.

We will definately be back and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brencha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.1 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
7.8 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
687 reviews
15.4 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalgair House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalgair House Hotel

Address: 113-115 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FKI7 8BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range: £40 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalgair House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Dalgair House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalgair Hotel Callander
Dalgair House Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing