We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for bikers....We'll definitely be back”
Review of Callander Meadows

Callander Meadows
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Callander Meadows
Ranked #19 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Callander Meadows is a small, family run restaurant/B&B on Callanders Main Street. It only has three rooms (Two doubles and a twin - all ensuite) but that was all we needed so it suited our needs perfectly. We were in the area on a short motorcycle trip so it was great to be able to park the bikes in a private and secure off street car park to the rear of the premises. The owners and staff were all very friendly and it was great to sit in the beer garden with a pint after a day in the saddle. The food provided in the restaurant in the evening is excellent and I can personally recommend the steaks. They were ordered in a variety of ways, from Well done down to rare and even blue! All were perfect.

The building is old and OK the floor creaks a bit, so does the four poster bed :-) but hey...we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayjay10117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Callander Meadows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We booked this place on line for 2 nights and when arriving found the area beautiful.
However, our experience at Callander Meadows was so bad we decided to book out after one night. The room was quite poor and not as clean as we would expect, the food was OK only and very expensive.
After we had gone to bed the noise kept going for a considerable time. This was caused by the people running the place rather than guests as they were shouting to their dog to go to sleep. There did seem to be a considerable amount of drinks going to the kitchen as well as opposed to the guests! When we got up for breakfast in the morning at 8.30am there was no sign of anyone or any smell of food. We waited for another 15/20 minutes and eventually a lady came down and made no apology at all. We complained about the noise and the uncomfortable room and told her we did not want breakfast and wanted to simply book out. what was more surprising was that she made no attempt to make any apology and just said "OK, let me get your final bill then"!! We complained further and said we are not happy paying for breakfast as we did not have it as she wasn’t up and wanted a discount for our bad experience. In the end we compromised on a payment we were both fairly happy with but I would most certainly not recommend this to anyone as there are many more places to stay in beautiful Callander and are much much better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed at the Callander Meadows for three nights bed and breakfast. The room was clean, tidy, tastefully decorated and had a lovely, comfy four poster bed. The B&B is owned and run by two chefs so the breakfast was gorgous (as was the lunch and the dinner!). It is located on the main street in Callander, but we knew this on booking and so weren't surprised when there was some noise from traffic, although this didn't disturb a good nights sleep. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and if we return to Callander we will definately be back to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverbirds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at Callander Meadows in mid-July for 2 nights while we explored the neighbourhood. We ate in the restaurant both nights, and the food was really good (though one had a strange 'garnish' which missed the mark on night one).

The rooms are very much B&B, but the one we had was comfortable and quiet, and had the usual tea making facilities and TV.

The owners are friendly and helpful and were even able to lend us a book of walks around Callander. It turns out both the owners (who are the chefs) worked in Jersey in the 1970's / early 80's at a restaurant that we knew well.

Definitely would recommend eating at the restaurant. We were there mid-week and it was pretty full both nights.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseybeanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Overall, I get the sense that Callander Meadows is primarily a restaurant (which is really excellent, by the way, definitely 5 stars) and that the B&B is a bit of an add on. That's certainly how we felt when we stayed there. It didn't compare well to the other B&Bs we stayed in during our time in Scotland.

The room's carpet was very dirty, and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time with black streaks in a number of places, and ground in dirt in others. The bathroom was a bit tired and old (the sink was cracked, for example). One of the light shades was broken.

The room itself (apart from the dirty carpet) was pretty nice and nicely decorated - fairly large - but again, a little bit tired around the edges, with some wallpaper peeling off the wall etc.

The room we stayed in faced out onto the street and there was some noise at night which did keep us awake. Also, the restaurant and house itself is quite busy and noisy so if you're looking for somewhere quiet then this probably isn't the place for you .

On the positive side, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

Callander Meadows (24 main street) is a lovely guest house. It has only 3 rooms. We stayed in the twin room, it was clean and nicely decorated. The other 2 rooms are double rooms. Callander is a friendly little town, prefectly located for The Tressaches, renting bikes and bika along Kathrine Loch and go for walks in the forest. The resturant have really good food, the menu changes every week. The winelist was also good and the setting is nice. The breakfast was tasty. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend. It has a oldfashion feel to it, very scottish.

1  Thank LondonTjejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gougouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#4 of 34 in Callander
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callander Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callander Meadows

Address: 24 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range: £71 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Callander Meadows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Callander Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callander Meadows Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing