We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food!”
Review of Callander Meadows

Callander Meadows
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Callander Meadows
Ranked #18 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
stirling
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic food!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had Saturday lunch there this weekend - the 2-course special. Great choice of starters and main courses, satisfying the tastes of all four of us. Beautifully cooked and presented. Can't understand how the owners can do this for such a reasonable price. I had French Onion soup that was thick and tasted divine. This was followed by smoked haddock and prawn risotto which was cooked to perfection. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandlharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A splendid night was spent here. The staff were warm and welcoming; the bedrooms were comfy and decoratively furnished with charming antiques. I had a Fab night's sleep on a 4 poster bed. The breakfast was delicious as was the dinner in the restaurant. Highly recommend if you want an experience several cuts above the traditional touristic fare.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debjar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verteuil-sur-Charente, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed here recently as part of a group of 3 couples. The owners, Nick and Susannah Parkes, describe Callander Meadows as a 'restaurant with rooms'. I would certainly recommend the restaurant but suggest you look for a room elsewhere. Rooms are typical for the type of building and have lovely high ceilings. Our twin-bedded room was a bit cramped. Presumably in order to match the period feel of the building the furniture is 'traditional' and very bulky. Everything's a bit grubby and the decor is dated. There were cobwebs above the picture rail. In order to get into the tiny en-suite you have to squeeze past one of the single beds. The door to the en-suite is a flimsy, poorly fitting, folding contraption. There is no mirror in the bedroom. I had to move a small, pedestal, shaving mirror from the en-suite into the bedroom in order to see when drying my hair. There was a very small table with a hospitality tray (kettle, cups etc - UHT Milk!) but there isn't really enough room on the table to use things easily. The wiring is extremely DIY with a 4 socket plug board attached to the wall near the hospitality tray.

The worst thing though was the beds. The mattress on mine was pretty uncomfortable but MightyMr suffered throughout the night on a lumpy, saggy, worn-out mattress with springs poking through the upholstery layer to just below the surface. He mentioned this to Susannah in the morning and she just said she'd 'sort it out'. She was a bit offhand and there wasn't even an apology. I hope she 'sorts it out' for future guests but that's too late for us.

Other members of our group also had some quibbles with the standard of accommodation and noise. It's a pity because our evening meal in the restaurant had been really good, with friendly efficient service and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MightyMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Callander Meadows is a small, family run restaurant/B&B on Callanders Main Street. It only has three rooms (Two doubles and a twin - all ensuite) but that was all we needed so it suited our needs perfectly. We were in the area on a short motorcycle trip so it was great to be able to park the bikes in a private and secure off street car park to the rear of the premises. The owners and staff were all very friendly and it was great to sit in the beer garden with a pint after a day in the saddle. The food provided in the restaurant in the evening is excellent and I can personally recommend the steaks. They were ordered in a variety of ways, from Well done down to rare and even blue! All were perfect.

The building is old and OK the floor creaks a bit, so does the four poster bed :-) but hey...we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayjay10117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We booked this place on line for 2 nights and when arriving found the area beautiful.
However, our experience at Callander Meadows was so bad we decided to book out after one night. The room was quite poor and not as clean as we would expect, the food was OK only and very expensive.
After we had gone to bed the noise kept going for a considerable time. This was caused by the people running the place rather than guests as they were shouting to their dog to go to sleep. There did seem to be a considerable amount of drinks going to the kitchen as well as opposed to the guests! When we got up for breakfast in the morning at 8.30am there was no sign of anyone or any smell of food. We waited for another 15/20 minutes and eventually a lady came down and made no apology at all. We complained about the noise and the uncomfortable room and told her we did not want breakfast and wanted to simply book out. what was more surprising was that she made no attempt to make any apology and just said "OK, let me get your final bill then"!! We complained further and said we are not happy paying for breakfast as we did not have it as she wasn’t up and wanted a discount for our bad experience. In the end we compromised on a payment we were both fairly happy with but I would most certainly not recommend this to anyone as there are many more places to stay in beautiful Callander and are much much better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed at the Callander Meadows for three nights bed and breakfast. The room was clean, tidy, tastefully decorated and had a lovely, comfy four poster bed. The B&B is owned and run by two chefs so the breakfast was gorgous (as was the lunch and the dinner!). It is located on the main street in Callander, but we knew this on booking and so weren't surprised when there was some noise from traffic, although this didn't disturb a good nights sleep. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and if we return to Callander we will definately be back to stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverbirds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, British Isles
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at Callander Meadows in mid-July for 2 nights while we explored the neighbourhood. We ate in the restaurant both nights, and the food was really good (though one had a strange 'garnish' which missed the mark on night one).

The rooms are very much B&B, but the one we had was comfortable and quiet, and had the usual tea making facilities and TV.

The owners are friendly and helpful and were even able to lend us a book of walks around Callander. It turns out both the owners (who are the chefs) worked in Jersey in the 1970's / early 80's at a restaurant that we knew well.

Definitely would recommend eating at the restaurant. We were there mid-week and it was pretty full both nights.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseybeanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 34 in Callander
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callander Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callander Meadows

Property: Callander Meadows
Address: 24 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Callander Meadows 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Callander Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callander Meadows Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing