We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Sheep in Our 'Front Yard'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leny Estate Self-Catering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Orchard Cottage was comfortable and the views amazing! It is up a long drive away from a main road (note that Leny Lodge is right next to the road) and the green meadows, sheep and beautiful flowers make a nice setting.

We enjoyed the fireplace and making dinner in the modern kitchen. Firewood and firestarters were provided, but not kindling (odd.) Also, when we asked for a second garbage bag, we were told that we needed to supply our own. This felt a bit stingy.

The master bedroom is a nice size and has windows facing the beautiful view. I would not say that it is truly ensuite because there is a shower and sink, but no toilet. The upstairs bathroom is under the eaves, so watch your head. The downstairs bathroom is tiny, but has a toilet, small sink and a shower.

Callander is close for shopping and dinners, and there is much beauty in the surrounding Trossachs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ks53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed over the recent May Day Bank Holiday weekend because we were attending a wedding at Loch Venachar Boathouse. We found the lodges comfortable and very well appointed to a high level. Although we were a party of 4 the lodge would have accommodated 2 more sleeping on fold-down beds, but I agree with a previous contributor that there is no soundproofing between the rooms so everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, is heard.
The lodges are set far enough up the hill to give a beautiful view over the local area and into Callander.
I found the booking over the phone easy and efficient, and I think we got good value for our money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The self catering lodges are cosy, clean & really well appointed. The views are stunning, worth the drive up the hill! The staff, both on site & at the time of booking were so friendly & could not have done enough to help. There are lots of b&bs in Callendar itself but I'd highly recommend Leny whether in a big or small group. It's peaceful & full of character. I was here only for a weekend, but will definitely return, it's a great place to explore the trossochs.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j1lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Following the the worst storm in recent years we were left powerless - literally. No electricity for 12 hours in the North Wing of the Leny Estate. However, as we were thinking about trying to boil water over the small wood fire we heard a knock on the door and a very welcome flask of hot water was presented to us to keep us going. What service! Although the whole town was down amid many fallen trees we thoroughly enjoyed our return to Leny. And the band Pure Malt in the Lade Inn across the road were sperb entertainment. And as the weather turned decidedly wintery a complete stranger offered to drive us back to the estate. Would that happen anywhere else? I think not. Topped off the brilliant 4 days with a meal in The Dome and Deil's Cauldren.

Room Tip: Both rooms in the North wing were equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We decided at the last minute, and in the school holidays to book a trip to Callander as it's very close to friends of ours and hunted about with no success on big holiday rental websites for something with late availability. I stumbled across the Leny Estate page by accident and was amazed to find they had multiple self catering lodges free the following week. Being a cynic I was a bit suspicious as to why everywhere else was chocka and they were empty but we gave them a call, the guy on the phone was absolutely lovely and we went ahead and booked. Best decision I've made in a while. Beautiful location, quiet, pretty, an easy walk into Callander ( the cycle path is well hidden on the opposite side of the road but once you find it you can safely walk anywhere), walking distance to the Lade Inn serving nice food and a range of beers, highland cows at the bottom of the drive, etc. The lodges were lovely, with amazingly well equipped kitchens, comfy beds, a big folder of things to do / places to go, etc. In fact the only slight niggle the whole week was that the kitchen was so well equipped, there wasn't any room to put food shopping away! Arguably not quite as posh as the nearby Stratheyre Forest holiday lodges (which have hot tubs, en suites etc) but I much preferred Leny, as it was a good deal cheaper, quieter, better TV reception , equally comfy and without any of the hen parties that we had surrounding us last time we were at Stratheyre. The staff could not have been nicer, the whole trip went smoothly and all in all we had a fabulous week in Callander. Would highly recommend, and will definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Only downside is that when sharing a log cabin, there were 6 of us when I stayed - there is absolutely no sound proofing between any of the rooms. Be prepared to hear all conversations, human bodily functions, snoring, teeth brushing, toilet trips etc etc. Take earplugs.

Other than that, wonderful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Whinifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here over New Year 2012. We hired out both cottages and the North wing of the big house - there were 16 adults and 3 infants in our party. Both the cottages and the house were well equipped for our stay. The setting itself is lovely and is only a couple of minutes drive (or 15 minute walk) into Callander. As the properties sit off of the main road there is no noise, so it is very peaceful. There are plently of options for country walks close to the esate as well. All of the properties were spotelssly clean and had a wood burning fire with plenty of wood available to burn. The rooms were a good size and the beds were very comfortable. Overall it was an excellent family break and we hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J111LCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
1.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#2 of 34 in Callander
336 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#5 of 34 in Callander
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leny Estate Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leny Estate Self-Catering

Address: Leny House, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Callander
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Callander in the heart of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Leny Estate offers luxury 4 star rated self-catering log cabins, Victorian Cottages and a 5 star Castle Suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leny Estate Self-Catering Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing