We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to stay for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Rectory Inn
Ranked #12 of 34 Callander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK to stay for one night”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked in for one night, 2 couples occupying 2 of the 4 rooms.The place was busy and we eventually were given keys for the rooms.
The rooms were basic but had what you need for one night or a short stay, both rooms had dog smells, OK if you like dogs.
We read the reviews for the restaurant and decided to give it a try.
One of the party ordered Fillet steak, it was terrible it had large amounts of grissle running through it, it certainly was'nt Fillet Steak, we also ordered Salmon, the piece was that small it looked like an off cut, we have seen bigger fish fingers.
The table service was very slow and the food was not up to much, although the prices are at the higher end of what you would expect to pay.
Breakfast was from 8.30 - 9.30, the breakfast room was locked and the Breakfast lady did'nt turn up until 8.45.
The whole experience was dissapointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordienorth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rectoryreservations, Owner at The Old Rectory Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Are you sure you have the correct place ????
We don't give out keys they are upstairs in the bedroom doors so guests don't have to wait for them.
Can't believe that anyone would pay for a meal which seriously didn't enjoy and that if it was that bad nothing was said at the time and we certainly aren't the highest price place in fact we are cheaper than most.
Breakfast, we don't have a breakfast lady,at breakfast it is the owner himself that serves breakfast which again I have to ask have you got the correct place ?
We do allow dogs to stay with us but we haven't had any for a while so not sure about the smell of dog in the rooms. Also I think that what we provide in the rooms aren't basic , Shower En Suite with fluffy bath robes, electric shaver points, hair drier and complimentary Scottish toiletries. The bedrooms all have Flat Screen LCD TV with over 130 free view channels and a DVD player with dvds available on request, alarm clock radio with I pod docking station, Fully stocked tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    56
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
94
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We recently stayed at Coppice B&B adjacent to the Old Rectory. The owner recommended the Rectory as a great eating place with great entertainment so we tried it the first night and the next 2 nights. The food was good. The service really good. The "Quiz" night with the local crowd was a blast and the musical entertainment (again with the local crowd) was a highlight of our trip. We really felt like we were in Scotland and enjoying the "Scottish" way. Tim, the owner, treated us like "family". Though food service stopped at 9pm, we lost track of time one night and hadn't eaten. When we asked for food around 9:30 he made us Nacho's (the best we had in Scotland). Thanks Tim & staff for providing us with an experience we won't forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I were here for a 3 night break. The rooms are comfortable with television, tea and coffee making facilities and free wi fi. The breakfast was amazing and the owners and locals were very friendly. We would definitely go back

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the front of the hotel to have lovely views
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 995facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Another relaxing stay. Clean, comfortable and airy accommodation. Warm welcome. Lovely owners and staff. Fantastic food, well worth eating in the Greys restaurant on the evenings as well as the eye popping full Scottish Breakfast.
Beautiful setting, convenient to the lovely town. Fantastic base for exploring The Trossachs.
To sum up its like staying with friends but even more relaxing,
The most common phrase used is, "no problem" and that says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with view where possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnWilliams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for one night. The house it self is very cute, and we got a big and light room (the Teith room) on first floor. Clean and big (but a bit cold) bathroom.
Good and friendly service at arrival and checkout. Excellent value!
Good and homemade breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

yet again we have had another fantastic time in this lovely hotel, food amazing well presented and always served with a cheery smile and it is real value for money in this day and age , we have met so many great people from all over the world in The Old rectory and we really enjoy the live music they provide us with honestly there is something for everyone or have a wee chat with the locals we would not go anywhere else now in callander that's how great a place it is to stay in I should say aswell that no matter what room your in they are all so clean and you have everything you need in them , the owners are well mannered and just brilliant people to spend time with ... so give this bonnie hotel a try you will not be sorry you did

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 34 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
Invernente Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 34 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Inn

Property: The Old Rectory Inn
Address: The Old Rectory Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Country Inn “Comfortable rooms. Great Food. And a warm welcome” A Family business started 12 years ago saw a building - formally The Church Rectory - go through a much needed transformation and over the years has built up a reputation based on quality. The atmosphere of the inn is informal, as it should be, and friendly with a good core of regular custom both for food and drink. Gray’s Scottish Restaurant at The Old Rectory is named after a past owner” Reverend Alan Gray”, and is brought right up to date by Tim and Jane Warbrick, Tim being The Reverend Grays Grandson. If you are looking for traditional choices using local produce where possible or delicious food, with a modern take on traditional classics then The Old Rectory Inn is just the place for you. One of the most popular pub restaurants in Callander, The Old Rectory Inn has earned itself a reputation for providing good quality food cooked by our very own in house chef. “Our 3 Course Sunday Roast Menu is Legendary” Take a look at our menus; we think you'll find plenty to tempt you. The Old Rectory Inn is a great place to eat, drink and relax with friends and family. Our Pub forms the backbone of The Old Rectory Inn and a warm welcome invites you into our cosy bar area where we have selected beers, lagers and ciders available in bottles and on draught. On warm, sunny days the garden allows for outside dining. We Have Live Contempary Scottish Music here every Wednesday Night the occasional Saturday night and Sunday Afternoons (musicians also sourced locally where possible). We host Quiz night every Tuesday night, our quizzes are good fun and not taken too seriously at all. Our spirit collection is vast, with an array of gins, we also have a hefty whisky collection including local and further afield whiskies. If you're looking to get together with friends, The Old Rectory Inn is one of the best places in the area to swap stories, drink in the atmosphere and savour some great drinks with some great characters. Remember that we host live music in the Whisky Library so before you book, please check with us first if you do not like the sound of people enjoying themselves!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Old Rectory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Callander
The Old Rectory Inn Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing