We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Excellent, accommodation??”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just stayed 5 days in a Golden Oak cabin with Forest Holidays at their Strathyre site. You cannot fault the location. This is our second stay there and if you enjoy walking and cycling then you are in for a treat. We have a dog and it is only a three mile walk to the dog friendly pub the Laird Inn at Kilmahog which is excellent. The only disappointing thing this time was the cabin. The Golden Oak is the top of the range and is just not worth the money. Our cabin was tired and in need of some sprucing up. The grass was all over grown outside so this could have looked much tidier. I could not believe there was no wifi but apparently this is being fitted. The TV reception for itv was terrible so watching the England match was a no go! Toilet roll holder , toilet flush and general decor all need fixing. Would not go for a Golden Oak again at that price unless they do something special to upgrade the tired cabins.

Room Tip: Silver Birch cabin is better vfm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent break at Strathyre. I am pleased to hear that you liked the setting and enjoyed some lovely walks with your dog. With regards to the cabins, we are undertaking a programme of refurbishment at the moment which I hope will reassure you. Some things, such as TV reception, are harder to keep consistent, owing to our remote location, but I can understand your frustration at not being able to watch the football. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our first visit to Strathyre was only a few months ago and we enjoyed the experiance so much we rebooked for a week end commencing 6th June. Our original faultless visit was not repeated - our Cabin No21 did not live up to expectation. When we entered it smelt mustly and unused and so I opened the patio windows to find the handle was broken, we were sill able to lock and secure and were told they were awaiting new handles. The cabin had a look of neglect, there were holes in the walls where some kind of pictures? had been,, there was no mirror or chest of drawers in the main bedroom and so I had to use the mirror in the downstairs bedroom for hair and make-up. There was no bedside reading lamp. The en-suite shower did not drain and I was left in a "puddle" wondering if the water would overflow - therefore I had to use the downstairs shower. When I reported these issues to the lady at the Retreat she informed me that - the painters were due in that particular cabin - perhaps it is due an upgrade? I don't know, but it did give the impression of having been part "stripped down" ready for something to be done. I did send an e-mail pointing out these issues but at todays date have not received a reply which is disappointing.
We did not let these issues spoil our holiday, we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility which Strathyre offers, the staff are all very pleasant, although we had problems with the cabin we did like its position with parking close by. Would we return? - yes - in actual fact we have another two weekends booked for this year, which I hope are a repeat of our first visit.and not our second. Surely Forest Holidays cannot expect customers to pay equal amounts for such varying standards, hopefully we were just unlucky - fingers crossed for August:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Strathyre. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. I will investigate what went wrong and ensure that your email is dealt with immediately. I am delighted that you will be staying with us again this year and please rest assured that we will do our utmost to ensure your next holiday is as enjoyable as the first time you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 fabulous days with friends and the dogs at strathyre in a silver birch cabin with hot tub. The most relaxing stay in stunning countryside on the banks of beautiful loch lubnig. Spacious and clean cabin with the hot tub to chill in with a glass of bubbly! Heaven! Only down side was the midges! Come prepared with midgee spray and Avon skin so soft during the summer months. Would be amazing at Christmas or new year for a family gathering.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent break at Strathyre. It sounds as if you had a lovely time enjoying your cabin and the setting, and of course the hot tub. You should consider staying over Christmas with us, it is quite magical – there’s even a Christmas tree in your cabin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a fab time in a Golden Oak. Strathyre is a brilliant site, Beautiful scenery with great local activities.
Hired bikes and a trailer for the toddler. Good fun but sore bum!
The Dogs loved it, they swam in the Loch (in Scotland we do not have lakes!) ran along side the bikes and relaxed on the decking.
Jack Black (real name!) the Forest Ranger is brilliant. If you have little ones make sure they go on the Ranger walks. Absolutely brilliant. We learned how to survive in the woods and all about the freaky Eels in the lock. We learned to always look up before you drink fresh stream water!!??! and a gazillion more things. We would have gone on more ranger walks but the rain came down :(
The hot tubs are great fun and ease those bones after bike riding.

One night we had Pizza delivered from the retreat, easy tea!

Beds are comfy with real duvets, wonderful big bath and roomy showers.

Remember to take everything, even an Oven glove and your fairy liquid, only things provided are towels.

If you have toddlers the local town has a soft play centre at the sports centre so if it's raining get down there, good coffees!

The antique centre at Doune is great, better than a museum!

Doune castle is a great place to walk the dogs along the river.

OOOhhhhh...... NO phone signal, no internet in the cabin. So if you want to hide from the world go here!

Going back in Sept!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for our positive review following your recent break in a Golden Oak cabin at Strathyre. It sounds as if you have a wonderful time and made the most of the outdoors in spite of the weather. I am pleased you all enjoyed your family holiday and delighted that you are coming back. We look forward to seeing you again in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Booked one of the Golden Lodges (No 17) for a girls weekend - a retirement celebration; we couldn't have had anything better. Our lodge was at the far end of the site and had a good enough view but it had all the mod cons we needed.
We were able to get in a bit earlier as the lodge was ready and along with the log burning stove, the hot tub was bubbling away. These lodges come with dressing gowns for the master suite, which has a stunning bath tub and great views over the loch but we were kindly given enough dressing gowns for the rest of the group.
Nothing was a bother for the staff and they were always helpful and attentive. We took our own supplies - coals for the bbq, remotes for the wii, dvd's and speakers along with all of the food and drink for the weekend, but the on site shop had a good range of tasty meals and beverages.
Go prepared for the midges - they're ferocious! Despite this, it was a fantastic place to stay, albeit pricey - we were over £800 for the lodge for the 3 nights. But as they say, you get what you pay for and we all thought it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Lodge 17 was at the far away end of the site, so there was very little traffic and it was very peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Strathyre. I am pleased to hear the retirement celebrations went well in your Golden Oak cabin; it sounds as if you had a lovely time. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent a long weekend at the cabins and could not have wished for a more relaxing time in a stunning location. The cabin itself was superb with everything in it that you need.the hot tub was ready and waiting as we checked in.the staff were brilliant from the moment we stepped out the car, so friendly and helpful.jack (the ranger) very friendly and knowledgeable) and effie in the shop/reception help make the stay special.

Room Tip: Cabin 35 by the water,great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent Forest Holidays break at Strathyre. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well. I do hope you will stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Beautiful scenery,lodge was fantastic and hot tub so relaxing. Staff very approachable and helpful. Plenty to do especially the ranger Jack who was fascinating and entertaining and has stimulated the children's interest in the great outdoors. Already planning return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your Forest Holiday at Strathyre. We love to hear that our Forest Ranger has inspired the interest of children and adults alike in the great outdoors. I hope you will be back for more forest fun before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
14 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
17.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
15.6 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

Address: Forest Holidays Strathyre, Callander, Perthshire, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Callander
Also Known As:
Strathyre Forest Cabins Hotel Strathyre
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland Callander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing