We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed in Cabin 26, good pitch and great views in front of us. Had a very relaxing holiday stayed for four nights in July. Would come back in the future. We went on the twilight walk, this was very good, the forest is so so quiet at night, got to see some pipistrelle bats flying just above our heads, amazing. As we stayed in a silver cabin you have a hot tub on the decking this was used by our teenage son who loved it. Check out the quiz night which is run on a Wednesday and a Saturday good fun was had by all, get there early or you will be sitting outside making friends with the midges. Callander is just a couple of miles away, you can either walk or cycle in as there is a cycle path roughly about 10 miles there and back, pretty much all the shops close about 5.00pm, there are restaurants opened to later on.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandabuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for leaving a review following your Forest Holidays break at Strathyre. I am pleased to hear that you have a good time and particularly that you were lucky enough to see the pipistrelle bats. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Maria Vernon-Allen
Contact Centre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    156
    51
    15
    11
See reviews for
211
233
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have recently spent 7 nights in a Golden Oak cabin number 20 at Strathyre and were very disappointed.Bedroom and stair carpets were covered in dog hair on arrival. They were vacuumed once we complained . The upstairs twin bedroom smelt of sick. Someone came to steam clean the carpet this time after we complained and suggested that it may have been dried spilt milk. The room still smelt after cleaning.The whole place was dusty and there was dust and buttons under the sofa. The windows were filthy and the kitchen work surfaces need re-sealing as they absorb liquids. The en-suite toilet was not clean so we cleaned that ourselves. The shower seal was damaged and mouldy and the shower tray was dirty. A safety notice regarding use of the hot tub was not on display outside the cabin until 2 days after we arrived. We stayed in Sherwood Forest at the beginning of the year. The accommodation there was excellent, extremely clean and modern. There is no comparison between the two sites. Strathyre itself is a beautiful location but we will not be returning until something is done about the standards of accommodation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that the standard of your accommodation was below what you rightly expected. We will act upon your feedback and ensure that the issues you have mentioned are dealt with.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this holiday as we had tickets for the Commonwealth Games and couldn't find any reasonably priced accomodation in the Glasgow area. We had spotted the cabins on a previous stay in Callander but we had no real idea of what to expect. We booked a Silver Birch cabin and treated ourselves to a hot tub on the dubious logic that we had saved so much by not booking the overpriced hotels in Glasgow (eg Travelodge £160 a night).
I am so pleased that we didn't stay in Glasgow, although the games were fantastic, as this break was just about perfect. The location is superb and the site is well maintained and a real haven for wildlife. The staff are very friendly and if there are problems they do their best to sort them out. In an ideal world I would prefer the cabin to include a hairdrier, towels, iron, freezer etc but with planning this isn't really an issue.
If you enjoy watching wildlife then take some good quality fatballs or a coconut shell, put them on your verandah and after a day or so the birds will flock to use them. We were especially lucky as the site's most elusive resident decided to check them out too - a gorgeous pine martin! He visited every day and it absolutely made our holiday - we had never expected to ever see a pine martin so it was brilliant. Far better than the Springwatch footage any day.
We also hired bikes and cycled for miles on the old railway trails - perfect for families and less confident cyclists. There were loads of great tea shops along the way. The hot tub really came into its own after a long bike ride. We didn't have problems with our tub unlike some other reviewers.
We would definitely go back perhaps in Spring or Autumn and we will be looking at Forest Holiday's other sites. Thank you Frank and the rest of the team for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We had cabin 14 which is set a short way from the Hub. Once in the hot tub the cover acts as a scre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Strathyre. I am delighted it turned out to be such a successful choice of accommodation. I am sure you enjoyed the Commonwealth Games and you probably never dreamt you would also be seeing a pine martin and relaxing in a hot tub when you booked your tickets for the games! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 2 bedroomed cabin with hot tub.
Surprisingly the weather was great.
Cabins are spotless and furnished to a good standard.
Staff are brilliant and all were very friendly and helpful.
Had a fantastic break and would recommend worth every penny
4days of tranquil luxury.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ireneanderson04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your break at Strathyre. I am delighted you enjoyed your break and that the weather was kind to you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved the location, stunning views of loch, forrest and mountain. Log cabin was fab. Clean, spacious and well equipped. Slept like a log every night.
Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Well equipped shop with good opening hours. On call staff at the end of the phone.
Will return again, if only to relax and enjoy the view. FABULOUS 10/10

Room Tip: Golden oak cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopesendsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday, thank you for taking the time to write a review – and for giving us 10/10. I hope you will return and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had cabin number 4 and while I was disappointed at first with the location (we had checked it out on the map on the website before arriving) we were actually pleased with it when we got there. The down side is that it's at the carpark however the angle of the cabin means that you aren't overlooked while outside in the hot tub as it's tucked away nice and private. The plus points of being close to the shop, car, walking paths and not stuck in too many trees (as midge's love trees) far out weighed any slight negatives.
The cabin itself is dog friendly and was spotlessly clean, no fear of it being sub standard. Our dog was great and loved being outside on the patio too. We were not allowed to leave the dog unattended in the cabin at any time however he is a well behaved dog and would not have done any damage. Understand the rules though and obliged at all times as there was too much to see and do anyways.
The cabin had three bedrooms, one master double upstairs and two twins downstairs. All beds were very comfy however upstairs was particularly warm so a small fan would have been appreciated. There is a large ceiling fan in the main area however did nothing to spread the cooler air anywhere else. Bearing in mind we were there for the week which had amazingly (unexpected for Scotland) warm weather.
The hot tub was cleaned and checked daily for levels, etc and was a joy as we were i n it every afternoon/night and was just so relaxing and fun.
There is a BBQ tray where you can only use disposable BBQ's which you can either bring or buy in the shop and we used this on more than one occasion for some al fresco dining. Bliss.
Like other reviews we were disappointed at there being no freezer as for a cabin sleeping up to six we did struggle for storage of food and general amenities.
The staff and maintenance manager were very helpful and friendly. Will look to go back here or the Argyll one next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndsBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent break at Strathyre. It sounds as if you had a great time. I am pleased that you found your cabin comfortable and that the location wasn’t a problem in the end, and also that your dog had a great time. We very much look forward to seeing you again next year, whether here at Strathyre or at Argyll.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Myself and 3 others stayed in lodge 12 and at first it appeared smaller than the one we had previously stayed in at Keldy. This was after waiting 30 minutes before we were allowed into the cabin. After a 5 1/2 hour drive this did not go down well. Check is between 4-8pm we did get there at 3:50 but we hoped it would be ready for 4pm. Anyway, back to the cabin. We noticed that we did not have a proper freezer compartment, although the staff at the retreat did say that of we had any freezer items they would be more than happy to store them for us. In the middle of Monday night the fire extinguisher took it upon itself to fall out of the wall. We mentioned this to staff on the Tuesday so that they were aware of the issue. Tuesday daytime we went on a walk to Callander. We would have liked to go on some of the forest walks around the site itself but both the Red and Yellow routes were closed due to tree felling (de-forestation in my opinion) and Highland waterworks laying pipes. With this in mind we decide to go on a dusk walk following the Ben Ledi diversion route and turning back when we couldn't get any further.
Now, onto the Hot Tub. Given that we had previously stayed at the Keldy site we felt that the hot tub this time around was a little bit of a let down. We missed the little touch of the colour changing lights. I understand that it's not possible to transport a Scarborough Spas hot tub all the way to Scotland but they are far superior. When we needed to 'top up' the water level it was a chore trying to fill it up with the pitcher jug. A bit of hose on the of the tap would have made this task so much easier.

All in all the holiday was good it was nice to get away from the craziness of the city and England. The air and water is by far so much better in Scotland, not to mention the scenic views.

Room Tip: If possible choose cabins nearest to the loch or access road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us in Scotland, where, I quite agree, the air is fresh and the waters clear. It’s a shame you didn’t get to do the walks you were hoping for, but it does sound as if you enjoyed getting away from city life all the same. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
3.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
9.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
21.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
15.6 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

Property: Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Address: Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Callander
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Strathyre Forest Cabins Hotel Strathyre
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland Callander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing