We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stratton Gardens Guest House
Ranked #5 of 51 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A return trip to Stratton, north Cornwall after several years away and fortunately we stumbled on this guest house again. Since renovation Jan and Liza have done a fantastic job. A brilliant place to stay. Welcoming, transformed bathrooms and bedrooms, good food and lots of well thought out little touches.

Highly recommended.

Peter & Pam

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stratton Gardens is everything that you could want from a guest house, from a friendly welcome with tea and cake on the terrace, excellent locally sourced breakfast with a nice room. The Guest house has been recently refurbished to a high standard and I would highly recommend this as a place to stay when visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Having just returned from a short break at Stratton Gardens I cannot recommend the Stratton Gardens B & B enough.

The quality of the rooms, bathrooms and wonderful breakfast is second to none.

Jan and Liz deserve to have great success as they have worked so hard to make their dream come true.

Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Kittiwake which was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

An beautiful place to stay with a warm and friendly welcome and atmosphere, once we were shown around and to our room tea and cake was prepared for us in the lounge. The location was peaceful, quiet and easy to find. Our room was everything you could want from a B&B and more, it was large with everything we needed including a very large and comfortable bed. There was plenty of information on things to do available and a selections of books and DVD's you could borrow (there is a DVD player in the room). The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a B&B with locally sourced produce used where possible, the sausages where my favourite. One of the reasons we chose the Stratton Gardens was that they offered on-site spa treatments, my wife went for a reflexology session in their dedicated treatment room and found the treatment excellent and really relaxing which helped her relax for the rest of our break. They also provided a good list of recommended places to eat, we stayed for three nights and ate in a different recommended place each night and was not disappointed. Overall an excellent place to stay, with amazing attention to detail including providing an on site bar, they have really done well with the place and we will definitely go back next time we go to Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just back from a trip to Cornwall where our final few days brought us to Stratton Gardens B and B. It was a fitting end to a wonderful trip! This guest house is special with an attention to detail that won't leave you wanting. We will be back !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lopikuggf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley lancs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is the best B & B we have ever stayed in.We have just returned from a 3 night stay.The welcome was warm and friendly and once we had been shown round the property a pot of tea and cake was waiting for us in the lounge.
The bedroom (we stayed in the Kittiwake ) was luxurious.The bed was enormous and the bathroom was perfect.The whole cottage had been renovated and Jan and Liz have done a wonderful job in putting their mark on the place.Jan is also a qualified therapist so they offer a range of treatments in the spa room.
Liz is in charge of cooking breakfasts and they were superb.They make their own bread and all products used are locally sourced.This information can be found on the reverse of the menu.
The garden is enormous and this is also looked after by the girls.I honestly do not know how they find time to tend the garden.It is in itself a full time job.
There is also the added bonus that they have their own parking facilities at the side of the property.There must be room for at least six cars.
All in all I cannot recommend this place highly enough.Liz and Jan are always available and have local knowledge of walks,restaurants etc.
We are already thinking about returning next year.
Good luck Liz and Jan you deserve it for all the effort you have put into your dream B & B.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms no matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankChorleyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We visited Stratton Gardens last year and were so pleased with the welcome that we returned again last week. The lounge downstairs has been renovated and a cup of tea and cake awaits you on arrival. The breakfast is great with most of the ingredients locally sourced. We are already planning next years visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
1.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
589 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
497 reviews
1.5 mi away
Surf Haven Guest House
1.4 mi away
Dylan's Bed and Breadfast - Bude, Cornwall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton Gardens Guest House

Property: Stratton Gardens Guest House
Address: Cot Hill | Stratton, Bude EX23 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratton Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome, care, comfort and delicious food await you at our lovely 16th-century guest house. Relax in peaceful surroundings in the picturesque, historic village of Stratton. We are close to the beaches at Bude and the coast path, and are ideally situated as a base for exploring Cornwall and Devon. We have five spacious rooms, all en-suite and with free wi-fi access. Guests can make use of our comfortable lounge and licensed bar. We also have delightful, secluded gardens where you can relax and unwind. We are rated 4 star Gold by Enjoy England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stratton Gardens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratton Gardens Guest House Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing