We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stratton Gardens Guest House
Ranked #2 of 48 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a fantastic find. This is the best stay we have had for a long time. Jan and Liz are kind, welcoming and friendly which gives a great personal feel to the place. The room we stayed in (Kittiwake) was big and open with a great colour scheme and spacious bathroom. Everything and everywhere was clean and tidy at all times. Breakfast is outstanding, worth the 6 hour drive just for the breakfast! The best bits are the small touches where Jan and Liz have thought of everything, DVD's in the corridor to borrow, a small library, licensed bar and a comfy living room area. Perfect for relaxing - there is even a spa!! We will be back, without a doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed in Kittiwake which was spacious with a large and extremely comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey_and_Erika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
147
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Jan and Liz made us feel welcome in their lovely guest house. A nice breakfast to start the day, and helpful recommendations of where to visit. At the guest house there was plenty of room to unwind and read a book, watch a DVD, or play a board game. We were able to get a good night's sleep as well.
We really enjoyed our stay in Cornwall and are already planning our return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was our first visit and the welcome we received was warm and inviting. The room was luxurious and spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate. Breakfast was of excellent quality with attentive service. Even Florence the cat was happy to see us and joined us for tea in the garden. We would definitely recommend Stratton Gardens as a place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We returned to Stratton Gardens for the third time. Although great to start with it gets better all the time. We would now not stay anywhere else if we come to Cornwall. It is a fabulously comfortable guest house with a great welcome and easy access to interesting places. When we were there it was sunny and warm and we sat in the lovely peaceful garden. I really recommend this place - and we will keep going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Been walking the SWCP from Minehead and staying in lots of B&B's along the way. Stratton Gardens is one of the best places we have stayed in. The room was spotless and inviting, carefully coordinated with lovely little touches and fresh flowers. The towels were amazingly fluffy... And the bath was fabulous. Breakfasts were scrummy with the best fresh ingredients, cooked to order.
The hosts Jan and Liz were extremely welcoming,friendly and helpful and are to be congratulated on the great job they are doing.
The whole experience was delightful,peaceful and relaxing....the gardens are beautifully attended and inviting and the house is being brought back to its former glory by its owners who really care!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter and found Stratton Gardens ticked all the boxes! Lovely hosts, clean, contemporary rooms, great breakfast, comfy bed and peaceful setting. Would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This review is long overdue to extremely pleasant hosts, Jan and Liz, who really looked after us. Breakfast was sumptuous and I got an extra sausage too. Beautiful clean rooms topped up with very good service. Would recommend and definitely come back!!

Bill & Prad

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradipta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
1.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
618 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
1.5 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bosvean House
Bosvean House
#14 of 48 in Bude
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton Gardens Guest House

Property: Stratton Gardens Guest House
Address: Cot Hill | Stratton, Bude EX23 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stratton Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome, care, comfort and delicious food await you at our lovely 16th-century guest house. Relax in peaceful surroundings in the picturesque, historic village of Stratton. We are close to the beaches at Bude and the coast path, and are ideally situated as a base for exploring Cornwall and Devon. We have five spacious rooms, all en-suite and with free wi-fi access. Guests can make use of our comfortable lounge and licensed bar. We also have delightful, secluded gardens where you can relax and unwind. We are rated 4 star Gold by Enjoy England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stratton Gardens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratton Gardens Guest House Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing