We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakwater House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bude
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Mor(Bude)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hebasca(Bude)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Beach House B&B(Widemouth Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widemouth Manor(Widemouth Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
94
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe blue roomb ba small balcony overlookingwelcoming hostshundred yardsbed and breakfastfantastic locationnight staypaulmarycanalaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We came for a long weekend between friends and had the blue and green rooms between us and we felt so welcome and taken care of. The rooms are of a high standard, roomy and very comfortable. The green room has canal and sea views, while the blue room has garden views, a balcony and a large bathroom. Breakfast was great, with a menu to chose from the night before and cooked to perfection the next day. The location is perfect for the beach and sea pool 5 min away (do contribute to the sea pool campaign while you are there!), and also a short walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs. A well deserved five stars (this is the only 5* B&B in Bude), with fantastic hosts in Paul and Mary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghislaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed several times now and the standards have never dropped. Paul and Mary fully deserve to have the only 5*B&B in Bude. Always feel welcome, looked after, great place to relax and chill away the worlds stresses.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnbullrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic one week holiday in Bude. We love Bude itself so much we return every year, we now love Breakwater House too and are returning next year. Paul and Mary are the best hosts, breakfast lovely and the rroms are gorgeous. We were in the Blue room at the back of the hotel which overlooked the immaculate gardens (and we had a balcony). This room has a fantastic bathroom. If you want a view of the sea/canal you would prefer the Green room or Red suite. We were more than happy with our room. I cant say enough about the hosts and their beautiful bed and breakfast. If you visit I'm sure you will feel the same. The location is excellent for Summerleaze beach, the sea pool (please try and contribute to save this), and some excellent eating establishments.
I didn't want to come home at all, and wish I could have stayed.
Thanks again for your hospitality and for a wonderful holinday, meeting you both made it even more special.
I would recommed the Olive Tree (mussels amazing) The Brendon Arms and The Falcon for food which are all a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We came last year, (see previous comment). It is the jewel in the crown of Bude! This year we have brought my in-laws and they too are thrilled by their room (The Green Room) and we have The Red Room! It's lovely, breakfast excellent, Paul and Mary so welcoming, it is like going back to visit a favourite Aunt and Uncle. We will come back next year, this is one of my favourite places in the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolly381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Visiting parents in Bude, this is by far the loveliest B&B I've stayed in for a visit. The green room may not have a balcony but it does have 3 very large sash windows. Even in the high temperatures we experienced this weekend a lovely breeze came in through the open windows and what a beautiful, panoramic view. We loved it! The most comfy bed ever (electric orthopaedic type where you can raise head and foot of the bed). Tea making facilities with large mugs and fresh milk, fab! Great hot and powerful shower. Large modern clean and comfortable room. Paul and Mary are great hosts and provide the best breakfast which includes fresh fruit of mixed berries - delicious. Location - spot on. For the best fish n chips go to Sizzlers at the top of the high st (my parents place - so slight biase but great all the same ;) ) Highly recommend staying here, we'll be back :)

Room Tip: Red room if you like extra sitting room and balcony with a great view. Blue room if you like a huge bathroom with a bath and balcony over looking the pretty garden at the rear. Green room for a fantastic view and great bed!(I can't account for comfort of beds in other rooms but I'm sure they're equally great )
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear22c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews