We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Breakwater House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bude
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakwater House
Ranked #18 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A first class B&B, great location within easy access of the beach and the town of Bude, great rooms well equipped with Sky TV, tea and coffee and wifi, great breakfast with a choice of menu and warm and friendly welcome from Paul and Mary. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Having looked at staying here for many years we finally got the chance to offload our kids for a weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday. Certainly a better experience than we imagined and will be looking at doing this again very soon. Very warm friendly welcome and atmosphere like a home from home. Very clean room and lovely breakfast. Paul and Mary are very knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith74phypers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

What a lovely place to stay. We had the Green Room with a beautiful outlook over the canal. The hosts, Paul and Mary, were great and looked after us very well, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was lovely and served each morning by Paul. The Breakwater is close to the local pubs and restaurants for drinks and dinner. Walking distance to nice coffee shops and township nearby. (Rosies Coffee Shop, near the beach is worth a visit!) Bude is a lovely small quiet town, in the winter, and close to Port Isaac. (of Doc Martin fame.) We will be back on our next visit to the UK. A great find!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 Nights in October.
Wish we could have stayed longer.
In a perfect location with the canal out front, the beach about 100 yards along the road and a 10 min stroll into town.
For those who like a longer walk the coastal path is also just at the end of the road.
Paul and Mary could not have been any friendlier or helpful.
We had the blue room which is at the back of the property with a small balcony overlooking the garden.
The room is well equipped and an ample size but the stand out feature is the enormous luxury bathroom - Fabulous is the only word to describe it.
Breakfast was more than enough to keep us going for most of the day.
A bonus was the off road parking as spaces do seem to be at a premium in this area.
Not the cheapest accommodation, but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for.
We had a very enjoyable stay, and WILL be back to sample one of the other rooms.

Room Tip: Blue room for fantastic large bathroom, Green room for large bay window with views overlooking can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pershoreandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Really enjoyable stay for one night. Loved the view from the balcony and the room was large and the bed excellent. Although well equipped the bathroom was small and the shower over the bath was not five star.
Everything else was good with a most enjoyable breakfast and it was good to have off road parking as this is a must in high season. The position on the canal is the main reason we stayed, the price is a little high if staying for a week compared to average Bude prices.

Room Tip: Red room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is most definitely THE place to stay in Bude, unless you want to pay quite a lot more for one of the 'Boutique Hotels' that have appeared recently! It's perfect for a family/friends get-together, with just 3 letting bedrooms clustered near each other on the first floor. Paul & Mary manage to strike the balance between relaxed and friendly on the one hand, and efficient and well-organised on the other. The whole place is tasteful and immaculate, with fabulous power showers, super-comfy beds and lots of thoughtful touches, like fresh milk and filtered water in the fridge in each room. The location is superb - quietly situated on the edge of town, an easy stroll to the beach/coast path/town centre and within seconds of two pubs and numerous coffee shops and restaurants. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: The Red Room is the largest and is at the front - it has a view of the canal & sea from a cute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayGBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We came for a long weekend between friends and had the blue and green rooms between us and we felt so welcome and taken care of. The rooms are of a high standard, roomy and very comfortable. The green room has canal and sea views, while the blue room has garden views, a balcony and a large bathroom. Breakfast was great, with a menu to chose from the night before and cooked to perfection the next day. The location is perfect for the beach and sea pool 5 min away (do contribute to the sea pool campaign while you are there!), and also a short walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs. A well deserved five stars (this is the only 5* B&B in Bude), with fantastic hosts in Paul and Mary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghislaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.6 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edgcumbe
The Edgcumbe
#7 of 49 in Bude
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Haven Guest House
1.4 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater House

Address: 3 Breakwater Road, Bude EX23 8LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Breakwater House Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing