We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Views, Great Breakfast...What more do you want.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Views, Great Breakfast...What more do you want.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Considering its price, this little hotel is superb value for money. The hotel sits on the side of the hill , from the breakfast room you have a view across the bay. The nearest beach is a very short walk down the hill, and the town centre is just a little bit further.

Rooms are clean and have en-suite, however I believe some rooms don't have showers....ours did. They are also dog friendly.

The indoor pool is a bonus, but be warned its not heated.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room for a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
38
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here last week for four nights. The first thing about the hotel that was different to our previous visit in October last year was that each room in the hotel has been or will be refurbished, in our room the bathroom had been transformed from what it was into a lovely light and airy space that was totally inkeeping with the rest of the hotel.

Our hosts, Rosalind and John are a delightful couple who bend over backwards to ensure that you have a trouble free holiday or short break. An example of this happened on the day we arrived, my wife went to have a shower before dinner and she told me to be careful when showering because the bathroom taps had got put on incorrectly i.e. the cold tap produced hot water and vice versa with the hot tap. We told Rosalind that evening and left it at that. Following day after breakfast we went out for the day, when we got back the taps had been changed to their correct position, now thats what I call service.

Breakfast is included in the price and excellent value for money, fruit juice followed by grapefruit (tinned) various cereals etc. You then had a choice of a full English, basically you pick what you would like from the extensive list or you can have mackerel or kippers. If you want you can just have poached egg on toast.

Evening meals are ordered at breakfast to ensure that John can get fresh meat and vegetables in plenty of time, there is normally a choice of three or four starters, three main courses, normally a fish dish, a meat dish and a veggie option. For desert there is a choice of around five or six different sweets or cheese and biscuits. I can honestly say that the food is very tasty and the portions are very large. My mother in law likes very simple quite plain dishes, so anything prepared with different sauces was left totally sauce free for her. This may seem very easy but I can assure you that we have been in restaurants where the waiter will say I am sorry you cannot have chicken without a BBQ sauce because that is how it is on the computer!!!

There is a very cosy bar and lounge to relax with two tv's and a music system. Drinks are reasonably priced.

Facilities in the hotel include an indoor swimming pool and mini gym, a bowling green, tennis court and a putting green, there is also a pool table and dartboard in the bar/lounge.

Overall we had a fantastic break and we have already booked for October 2014.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for our 40th wedding celebration with my sisters and their husbands and had a great time. The owners were so friendly and welcoming and we were delighted to find a lovely bunch of ruby red roses in our room, which Ros insistent that we keep;a really thoughtful touch. Our room (15) was spacious with a large bathroom and sea view and very clean. Fantastic cooked breakfast, served by a lovely waiteress (sorry, didn't know her name).There's a range of activities and we enjoyed playing bowls and pool and had a walk along the cliff top outside the hotel. John cooked an evening meal for us on Easter Sunday, which was delicous and much appreciated. Highly recommended and we hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a spare bed and plenty of space, including patio-type sofa and chair. The sea view was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonandTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I previously reviewed this hotel in March/April 2013 and we visited again recently. My wife and I and my mother in law stayed with John and Rosalind (proprietors) from 21st October to 25th October.

On arrival we were immediately greeted with friendly hugs etc which to my mind shows the warmth of our hosts. After a short chat we were shown to our respective rooms so that we could freshen up from our 6 hour journey. We had already contacted John previously to order evening meals for the duration of our stay, so we looked forward to our first night.

The rooms are adequately furnished, plenty of storage space for clothes etc, a small but functional bathroom with bath and shower. In our room we had a double and two single beds so would sleep 4 comfortably. There are tea and coffee making facilities (replenished everyday) and also a Tv for late night viewing.

The bar is well stocked and has most drinks people may require although ther is no draught beer but plenty of bottles of real ale. There is an extensive wine list at reasonable prices which I think is a first compared to other hotels we have stayed in.

There are two Tv's in the lounge, a pool table, dart board and a slot machine. You can also listen to music or watch a DVD. All public areas are spotlessly clean.

Our evening meal menu consisted of a choice of three starters, three or four main courses and a choice of three or four deserts or cheese and biscuits. All meals are home cooked with fresh ingredients and the puds are Rosalind's speciality.

Main meals ranged from various fish, duck, chicken, pasta, vegetarian options and also a smattering of oriental dishes. John does most of the cooking which is where his days as a chef/cook in a restaurant have served him well.

Breakfast is the usual type with cereals etc and a choice of full English, kippers, haddock or various other combinations.

The portions are huge and you will certainly not go to bed feeling hungry!!

There are different waiting staff at different times and they are all courteous and helpful, always willing to ask how your day has been.

If you wish to keep fit during your break ther is an indoor swimming pool, a bowling green, a putting green and a small gym. There are many good walks along the cliffs locally and John or Rosalind will always help you with local information.

The hotel is dog friendly (well behaved dogs only) and they have two beautiful boxers of their own.

All in all a great choice to stay. We have already booked for May 2014.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Rosanne & John run a well established pet friendly small licensed hotel close to the SW coastal footpath in family friendly Bude.Many leisure facilities (see website). We would certainly return there.

Room Tip: Choose a first floor balcony room for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totnesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of spending two weeks at The Cliff Hotel and hence could experience for ourselves what so many 5 star reviewers, with whom we obviously agree, have said about this place here before. Actually, we were so positively impressed that I decided to register with tripadvisor in the first place to share our experiences.
While other reviewers have already described the beauty of the location and the various hotel amenities, I will attempt to list some of the aspects that made the total package there so special.

Booking was made very easy through the online booking option with instant confirmation integrated in the hotel’s webpage – especially convenient for guests from abroad like us as we were spared from informal e-mail exchanges and having to wait for a confirmation while flight prices were going up. Also, we could choose attractive rates, making the hotel excellent value for money.

We travelled by public transport and our hosts John and Rosalind kindly offered – free of charge - to meet us at and return us to the bus stop at the other end of the centre of Bude, and while that was still within walking distance from the hotel we gladly accepted their offer when we departed.

Our clean and spacious rooms were located on the first floor with panoramic windows and balconies that allowed us to watch some beautiful sunsets over the sea. The beds were very comfortable and both the hotel and its surroundings were so quiet (except for the soothing sound of the sea) during the nights that my partner and I agreed: we cannot remember ever having enjoyed a better quality of sleep at a hotel.
The shower hoses in the en-suite bathrooms were, as other reviewers have mentioned, of the attachable variety, which presented no problem at all - we did certainly not compromise our personal hygiene and it was quite handy for washing my hair. Fresh towels were provided without having to explicitly ask for them whenever the old ones had been sufficiently used, which, as we try to be environmentally conscious, was usually every other day. The bed sheets were changed repeatedly during our stay.
Also, we did not detect the smell of dogs or for that matter other species anywhere in the hotel, just the fresh smell of Atlantic air. John and Rosalind’s own two dogs were as well-behaved as those of the guests, and the same applies to some rabbits they keep on the premises. Those lucky rabbits are all rescued, and it is truly commendable that Rosalind takes time off her busy schedule as a hotel manager to take very loving care of them.
The chambermaids attended to our rooms while we were having breakfast which was very convenient. Both they and the waiter and waitresses serving breakfast and dinner were totally friendly, always smiling and attentive, e.g. they always made sure we had a sufficient supply of our preferred type of tea in our rooms. Also, the breakfast room staff always remembered exactly what we ate for breakfast.
One night when I got a take-away dinner John and Rosalind provided us with heated plates and cutlery from the hotel kitchen and even cleaned up after us.

The Cliff Hotel caters to special diets and we could easily indicate our special dietary requirements on the booking form. There, I made the claim that we were “low-maintenance” which in retrospect appears to have been slightly misleading in view of the fact that we were provided with delicious premium products for breakfast, making us feel rather “high-maintenance”. And just one example of the attention given to every guest’s individual needs was when Rosalind inquired whether we wished to have smooth rather than chunky peanut butter and a different porridge flavour after the first few days.
Our go-to place in the town centre ceased to be open for dinner after August thus limiting our options, and in response John and Rosalind even offered to prepare special diet dinners for us twice. We enjoyed nutritious, delicious meals, the highlight of which (sorry John, your stuffed tomatoes and the fruits galore melon fruit salad were great, but you are dealing with a chocoholic here) was Rosalind’s incredibly scrumptious chocolate almond pudding, on par with my favourite dessert at G’s - all the more remarkable as she had made the recipe for the first time (and researched it just for us).

In summary, the hotel owners John and Rosalind and their staff indeed went out of their way and beyond to make this a wonderful stay and we cannot imagine more amiable, caring and committed hosts. We can only conclude by saying that, should we ever return to Bude, we will definitely stay at no other place than The Cliff Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Comfortable, friendly, fair minded and excellent value. A little old fashioned but a nice change from expensive modern hotels that are often a bit soulless. The owners and their staff have a lovely attitude and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waveslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bude
0.1 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bude
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
11.9 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Hotel at Bude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Hotel at Bude

Property: The Cliff Hotel at Bude
Address: Road Near Crooklets Beach Maer Down, Bude EX23 8NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cliff Hotel at Bude 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliff Hotel at Bude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Hotel At Bude Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing